My Personal Travel Photography ~ A Look Inside "Rhodes Town" Castle in Greece

This post is a continuation of my recent articles about vising Rhodes. Today I want to take you on a short tour inside the Castle grounds. So in effect, this Travel publication is my personal experience of visiting a most beautiful Greek Island named "Rhodes". Just something a little different, that you may not read in any of the many Holiday Travel brochures.

There was also a funny incident that happened to us, while we explored the Castle. Which I hope you will find amusing if you read to the end of this article...πŸ˜€

I will now begin my story... ✍️

My very first visit to Rhodes was on a Mediterranean Cruise back in 2010. However, about 3 years later we spent a two week holiday there staying in a cheap (2 Star ⭐️⭐️) Hotel. Just A short distance (just a few miles) away from the stunning Rhodes Old Town. On this particular day we decided to take a coach trip to explore inside the famous Rhodes Castle.

The coach climbed the old hilly road up to the main Car Park where we left the coach to begin walking across the long stone bridge to the main entrance.

Entrance.JPG

You can see me here sitting on my stone balls, so to speak πŸ˜‚
Notice the stone bridge in the background that we walked across. Where I am now sitting is the original moat area that at one time would of been completely filled with water.

The moat continues around the entire Castle and would take at least a couple of hours to complete. We walked some of it, but in hot heat and a very stony pathway. It would definitely need some physical endurance to walk all of the way around it. Walking is really hard work in bright sunshine, with no clouds in the blue sky!

Rhodes-balls.JPG

As we wondered further around the inside of the old castle I noticed this ancient doorway that seemed to lead to a "Secret Garden" beyond. The exit at the bottom looked intriguing to us both, so we walked down the pathway and through the archway, only to be greeted by a guy who wanted to shine our shoes for money 🀣

What made it more funny was the fact that we were wearing trainers & "Flip-Flops", but he was so insistent that we eventually conceded defeat and just paid him to do his work. Then we just walked away laughing to ourselves πŸ˜€

Rhodes-Exit.JPG

I am not a professional photographer, but I always try my best to make my Travel photographs as interesting & factual as possible πŸ‘

All the Photos were shot with my old Sony DSC-W17 Camera
[ Strictly Copyright Β©2021 Β©andy4475 πŸ“· ]

Many Thanks for viewing my latest Travel & Photography publication πŸ‘ Bye for now, See you all again soon on my next post... πŸ‘‹


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments
Ecency