I bought an Italian fountain pen, the Aurora Ipsilon

P1570165.jpg

Hello everyone!
Today I present to you the last pen I bought!

This is a young girl compared to the other pens I'm used to, this is the first edition of the Aurora Ipsilon series from the early 90s.

ITA

Ciao a tutti!
Oggi vi presento l'ultima penna che ho acquistato!

Questa è una giovane fanciulla rispetto alle altre penne a cui sono abituato,si tratta della prima edizione della serie Aurora Ipsilon dei primi anni 90.

P1570166.jpg

It was sold for 100,000 lire and was a mid-range pen.

This series is still produced but with a small restyling and with different materials.

ITA

Veniva venduta a 100.000 lire e ed era una penna di fascia media.

Questa serie viene ancora prodotta ma con un piccolo restiling e con differenti materiali.

P1570171.jpg

The model in my possession is loaded through a normal converter system, which makes it very easy and easy to ink.

ITA

Il modello in mio possesso si carica tramite un normale sistema a converter, il che la rende molto semplice e da inchiostrare.

P1570167.jpg

This Ipsilon is in really good condition, I believe the owner has only used it a handful of times.

ITA

Questa Ipsilon è davvero in buone condizioni, credo che il proprietario l'abbia usata solo una manciata di volte.

P1570170.jpg

When I bought it, I almost regretted it because it has an M-stroke nib which I usually don't like that thick because it releases too much ink on the paper.

With great surprise, however, I found that the section almost looks like a heavier F.

I own a Montegrappa Ducale which has an M nib but is much thicker!

ITA

Quando l'ho comprata mi ero quasi pentito perché ha un pennino tratto M che di solito a me non piace così spesso perché rilascia troppo inchiostro sulla carta.

Con grande sorpresa invece ho constatato che il tratto sembra quasi un F più carico.

Possiedo una Montegrappa Ducale che ha il pennino M ma è molto più spesso!

P1570168.jpg

Look at that nice nib, it looks new!

ITA

Guardate che bel pennino, sembra nuovo!

P1570169.jpg

And here's a little test on an old diary.

The line is fine and continuous, the nib does not release more ink than necessary and if you use the pen for a few days, it won't be hard to start writing!

ITA

Ed ecco una piccola prova su una vecchia agenda.

Il tratto è fine e continuo, il pennino non rilascia più inchiostro del necessario e se in si usa la penna per qualche giorno, non fatica ad iniziare a scrivere!

photo_20210126_104416.jpg

This is a pen that will stay with me for a season or two, I plan to buy and try other vintage pens.

The thing I like most is having different experiences, each pen has its own soul, I can't wait to meet the next one.

ITA

Questa è una penna che stara con me per una stagione o due, ho in programma di aquistare e provare altre penne vintage.

La cosa che mi piace di più è avere esperienze diverse, ogni penna a una sua anima, non vedo l'ora di conoscere la prossima.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now