π‘»π’“π’šπ’Šπ’π’ˆ 𝑻𝒐 π‘Ήπ’†π’Žπ’†π’Žπ’ƒπ’†π’“ 𝑻𝒉𝒆 90𝒔 - It got out of hand Part 2 (No Longer Allowed To Die Happy)

Leonardo_Anime_XL_The_Jerry_Springer_show_with_crazy_guest_90_0.jpg

Than G itΒ΄s Friday!

Last week I tried to compare the Β΄90s vs The Now. I just looked at some simple things like walking your dog and having your kid play outside unsupervised.

π‘»π’“π’šπ’Šπ’π’ˆ 𝑻𝒐 π‘Ήπ’†π’Žπ’†π’Žπ’ƒπ’†π’“ 𝑻𝒉𝒆 90𝒔 - It Got A Bit Out Of Hand (Make Shitting In The Gutter Great Again)

The results were kinda shocking, shocking enough to make me swear. But the worst part was that they highjacked the word liberal.

So just One More Time:

Nowadays peeps confuse Liberal with leftism, but hey thatΒ΄s okay the quality of schooling went down over the years so I guess they can not help it.

And being woke is probably just as crazy as being a hippy in the Β΄60s, or a punk in the Β΄70s.

Come to think of it wokes and punks have the same hairdresser.

Nineties Crazy Was All Show

We had crazy people in the Nineties as well, but we made special shows for those guys and dolls, and the them, theirs & itΒ΄s.

Again I am as Liberal as a Library, I accept everything on the page. But keep your books to yourself I will check it out when I feel like it.

By the way, I should now identify as a Librarian Libertarian because saying you're a Liberal nowadays creates a stigma you might not want.

And Now For Some Good News

Of course, it ainΒ΄t all bad. These new social standards have had at least one good side effect, well together with the Pandemic that is.

The practice of door-to-door proselytizing has become less common overall, as society has changed and people are less likely to engage with unsolicited visitors at their homes due to privacy concerns, health, security, and changing lifestyles.

And I got you to admit there are fewer Witnesses ringing my doorbell than they did my moms. Or did she just say that fancy-looking dude was a Jehovah's Witness so I would not tell Dad?

Back To the Bad

So basically the point I am trying to make is that it all started with those wealthy helicopter parents. They had the money and voting power and therefore caused more government regulation in everyday life.

Their overly protective "I want to know where MY kid is 24/7" mentality created this current risk-averse society.

And the governments were happy to use that risk-averse mentality against us. Their excuse is that they are doing so well protecting us. They became what the helicopter pappies and mammies asked for: a 24/7 Nanny.

And not just for the little ones, they treat us all as kids.

image.png

But I never asked for it, I am a Nineties kid, let me play unsupervised and give a false name to a cop as they had no means to check it anyway.

Nope, no chance in hell. Heli pussy parents made it so that we all have to live in a Nanny state:


The "Nanny State" Mentality: The overly protective governments that go against my classic liberal soul have taken control of individual behavior.

They go against Thomas Jefferson's right to pursue personal happiness

"We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal, that they are endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable Rights, that among these are Life, Liberty, and the pursuit of Happiness."

But so far I see little pushback from those who believe that individuals should have the freedom to make their own decisions, even if those decisions involve risk.

I mean kids today seem to happily accept they live in a Nanny state where everything is brought to them when they ring their bell.

Fat Is Not Bad

What was a happier thing than getting a Happpy Meal back in the Nineties?

Nowadays McDonald's can not even aim their advertising at kids anymore, come on. I loved those Happy Meal commercials as a kid.

The state protects my kids from McDonald's but not from dope dealers on the school grounds. Because that would be real work.

I am sorry for sounding so Boomerish, but itΒ΄s all a bit too much for me. I want my Nineties back.

You can keep your 347 Genders, your people of color, and your helicopter parents.

I am liberal AF you can keep them all, but give me my Nineties back when I could drive with lead fuel, use lead paint, and die happy like a mad hatter.

But no, they want it all

They changed the social climate and now it all needs to go their way. The helicopter pussies inspired increased focus on public health and safety.

Everything is aimed at reducing long-term healthcare costs and improving overall societal well-being.

Seatbelt laws, anti-fat movement, smoking bans, and bike helmet laws are just a few examples of measures introduced to reduce preventable injuries and healthcare costs.

And you know what, it only makes things more expensive.

The World Upside Down

Now it may surprise you but I have been calling this for years, Smokers and Obese people are cheaper in the long run than healthy fit non-smoking people.

Preventing obesity and smoking can save lives, but it
does not save money, according to a new report.
It costs more to care for healthy people who live years longer,
according to a Dutch study that counters the common perception that preventing obesity would save governments millions of dollars.

ItΒ΄s not only the preventing, and all the costly projects surrounding prevention. Fat Tax, Sugar Tax, and Cigarette tax also go a long way.

Just today I read a whole article about How the Dutch government will miss out on 100 million in tobacco tax just this year.

It has all gone overboard, letting people smoke in dedicated areas. Let them eat McDonald's all day if they want to. DonΒ΄t use healthcare costs as an excuse. It seems we are no longer allowed to die happy.

Health care is for those who care about their health, and if you plan it well those who care less are paying for those who care.

This Nanny state is creating healthy, clueless, mobile-addicted zombies with purple hair. They grow old, sour, and have no clue what the pursuit of happiness really means.

If people donΒ΄t die early from driving without a helmet or seatbelt, eating burgers all day, and having one too many beers while smoking, healthcare costs will explode.

Just imagine having to live without all those vices and even paying more taxes. It just all seems to have gotten a little out of hand if you ask me.

I feel that growing up things looked sunny side up, but if I look back at what happened after the Nineties I wonder where did we go wrong?

The outlook on life as a kid was wonderful, I would almost say happy and bright even though we listened to Nirvana. Maybe it's just a part of growing up that those future plans turn out to be illusions.

That freedom ends up being just another word for nothing left to lose. Nothing more than a word, because they took our freedom. We are all registered human beings, easy to trace in case we F up.

When I think about how I felt back then it would sound a lot like this:

That feeling does not exist anymore, the woke peeps are still screaming but the screaming has become incoherent, and the iPad generation is growing up and will soon be able to vote...talking about scary thoughts.

How different the world would have been when M was allowed to be Gen Z role Model.


Bikini Bottom Line

As this is Part II and I said already more than enough I will keep it short.

If I look at the world today using my Nineties eyes I just go like this:


Thank goodness you made it till the end Pees, Love and I am out of here!


#NinetiesFriday was brought to you by

image.png

WTF do I do on #NinetiesFriday?

Well, don't do what I do because I just stole the below as it is good enough for copy/pasta!

But some ideas are music, movies, television, sports, or really anything Nineties related.

I assume movie, tv, or music topic reviews or talk will be most common, but you could also talk about a sports memory or something else.

Think the Pop Culture of the times, but it would be great to hear about little known and interesting bands or entertainment items. Don’t forget to use tag #NinetiesFriday

@geneeverett will give 3 basic income units to a winning random post every week that uses the #NinetiesFriday tag. Also @thebighigg has jumped in to match for 6 total weekly prizes! If anyone else wants to sponsor with 1 unit let me know or just send if you don’t wanna commit to weekly πŸ‘


All images by MyI and AI except for the stolen #NinetiesFriday image of course.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now