Piano keys issues - even on the weekend

4HFqJv9qRjVecs4xkhd5EvhidWEEBnn9tCVDBkBhQpUFvab78MhbU1VtzADrRhZWZaaEkxfr6bcjS4zaDMDX9CUgYmirdLf1oUS7j3A423GPsqufz6rEAVUmPrKPMRvVmYLauNmNMD4WAJPbNL8LiEiVwsDHcsnxiYv.jpeg

Although it was Sunday afternoon I attended the messages I got. I usually don't respond to work-related inquiries during the weekend, I have enough of it between Monday and Friday. But it was a friend of mine who first gave me a call and asked for a favour, could I listen to those few videos he sent me and give my opinion about the 14 years old girl playing the piano? I was on the couch anyway, trying to do nothing (it can happen?) and waiting for the positive results that the pain relief cream would give me. A thin layer of that cream was applied to my neck and back but the scent of it was quite strong.

So, I was listening to one composition by Grieg, then Mozart's Turkish March and one Prelude and Fugue (in C minor) composed by Johann Sebastian Bach, all in the interpretation of that young blond pianist, recorded at their home. It was funny that the first thing I saw was a big crystal vase on the top of the piano. I almost freaked out as I know that having items on the top or a shiny upright piano is not a good idea. They can fall from the vibration that the strings are producing. Just believe me. About her playing... I saw a lot of work, dedication, and attention. I recognised a lot of discipline. What I lacked were more dynamic details, softness, freedom and sensitivity. However, she had very good bases, she just needs to grow in expression.

Almost at the same time a student wrote. It was just a short message "Maestra! Look, this is my next piano" and a few photos of a beautiful Bluthner upright piano. The current piano owner (his cousin) is selling her house and will give the piano to my student. Being a family heritage from the grandfather is giving additional value to that instrument. There are some lucky people in the world :D

Nicely spent moments, the black and white keys never leaving me alone. Though it is somehow my choice. I mean the piano, not the neck aches. And what to do with the choice of a student of mine who decided not to participate in the end-of-year concert we celebrate every June? She is almost 17, she is not that small that I could push or in any way force her to play at the concert. When she stayed to talk to me for a few moments after the lesson about the issue, that she would not like to participate I gave her my moral support. Leaving her the freedom of choice but expressing my hopes that she would change her opinion and play at the end.

The mother was not so happy when I mentioned that. She wants her daughter to play. Understandable, as they are three siblings coming to the lesson, the last one I give on Friday late evening. It is an enjoyable hour with the three of them as they are hardworking, very well-educated and disciplined! Each of them learned the piece they are supposed to perform in June and also the trio, a composition for six hands. Seeing two children and not the third one on the stage would disappoint the mother, I know.

IMG_20230521_233342.jpg

As a mother, I would talk to my child until I get her/him to play on the stage. As a teacher, I will also talk to her trying to encourage but I need to know the reason why she is refusing to participate. If it is fear of the stage, of people, insecurity, shyness, laziness, spite, boredom or else that led her to the idea of giving up (she is not giving up on the lessons, she comes and practices but just the concert is what she wants to avoid). Of course, I had a lot of cases already, we always solved them in one or another way. There are other students that will not play at the event, respecting their choice and the parents agree with it. Then it is all good. But now the parent wants one thing, the child (student) another and maybe it is supposed that I as a teacher find a solution that would please both of them.

There is still time to decide, and maybe this Friday she will come already with a different opinion. The teenage years are complicated sometimes, emotionally, that's why I try to understand her but that six-hand composition would definitely not sound well without her part. I can play her part, no problem, but I guess it's not me who the mother wants to see on the stage ;)

mipiano_banners_strip_gimp.png

If you would be the teacher of this student, would you force try to inspire her to participate? How? If you would be the parent of this girl, would you force encourage her to participate? How? What would be the measures?

mipiano_-_MP.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
60 Comments
Ecency