A blast from the past

Once in a while, I find myself listening to old songs from the '70s, '80s and '90s (mostly '80s) and I have a dedicated playlist for all these songs on my Spotify. A lot of great artists were popular during these periods from the likes of Lionel Richie, Marvin Gaye, Michael Jackson, Cyndi Lauper, and a host of others. I have some of the popular songs of these artists all in one playlist that I named "classics" but there is one particular group that I placed in their own playlist, and it's ABBA.

I don't know how popular this band was and I didn't even know them at first until I heard one of their songs on a TikTok video. They were active in the music industry in the '70s and '80s, but they broke up later on. You might think I was born in this era but that's far from it, I was actually born in the late '90s but I grew up listening to some of ABBA's songs even if I didn't know who they were at the time. The one song I remember very well and which was the same one I heard on TikTok is called Chiquitita.

A lovely name for a song isn't it? Kinda reminds me of the Chihuahua dog breed (vicious creatures I must say). One thing I remember about this song from back in the early 2000s was that it was mostly played during the Christmas season and till now I don't even know why (Did ABBA even have any song tailored for Christmas? I will find out later). I think it's similar to how Boney .M songs were played during Christmas as well, even though they had just 2 to 3 songs that were actually meant for Christmas.

Chiquitita is my favourite of all ABBA songs and whenever I'm playing the playlist full of their songs (which I just named ABBA), I repeat it a couple of times before moving on to the others. I love how the song started slow but later picked up momentum as it got to the chorus which indeed is my favourite part. I always stop whatever I'm doing whenever it gets to the chorus and I just happily sing along with a smile on my face. I later found out that Chiquitita is Spanish for Little Girl, which apparently is the same as Chiquita (this is the one I know).

My second favourite ABBA song is called Dancing Queen and I found this one while exploring their songs on YouTube. I immediately fell in love with the video which was shot in what looks like a '70s night club. I always imagine myself being present in the club and watching these legends perform, that's how immersive the video is. I guess I have an old soul and just love how simple things were in the past. I always love watching videos of people in the past (the '70s and '80s) having fun at parties, probably why I love the music video of Lionel Richie called All Night Long.

I discovered a lot of wonderful ABBA songs later on, like Lay All Your Love On Me (heard it in a TikTok challenge and it sounded very familiar), The Winner Takes It All, Voulez-Vous, Take A Chance On Me, and so on. ABBA is a music group made up of 2 men (instrumentalists) and 2 women (vocalist). The vocals of these women are just magical, and truly one of a kind. Don't even get me started with their smile, it's always a delight to watch them. You can check them out as well, especially starting with the songs I have sampled here on this post and who knows, maybe you will also become their fan and also check out their other songs.

Thanks for reading

Connect with me on:
Twitter: @kushyzeena
Readcash: @kushyzee

Lead image: Image by lookstudio on Freepik
Edited with Canva
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency