Writing Music and The Process I Go Through When I Do

0DDED5E4-20ED-4460-8527-2076098BA025.jpeg
source

For as long as I have known myself, I have always loved writing, I wasn’t the most expressive child but, when I held a book and a pen, it was an outlet that I could use to share my thoughts and everything I couldn’t say in person.

My passion for writing was so clear that even when I was younger, all my teachers in school advised me to chase a career in literature and even though I couldn’t, that part stuck with me.

Most days when I am going through something or I need to clear my mind, I start writing and it always helps.

A while ago, my passion for writing kind of merged with my passion for music, I was curious about writing songs and even though, the idea scared me, I decided to chase it and write I did.

In a space of one month, I wrote over 10 songs, but there was one problem, I didn’t feel like they were good enough which is pretty normal for me due to the fact that I deleted my first book because of this.

I remembered during this process what I knew before which was that I was my worse critic, but this didn’t help me and I deleted all the songs that I had written.

I continued in this process of writing and deleting until something happened and that helped me write and keep a song.



WHAT HELPED MY WRITING PROCESS

4925C25A-E076-4E20-B12E-7860FF07ECDC.jpeg
source

Well, if you are curious about what helped my musical writing process then, you are in the right place.

As sad as this is, the thing that helped me was a breakup, I was in a relationship for a few months and after we broke up, I was broken to be honest.

This breakup affected a lot of things in my life including my content on hive but, it also help me write a song or actually sing a song which is dear to me.

As someone who loves deeply, having my heart shattered made me want to express myself and I did through this song, I’ll be sharing a few lines below;


A fool for love
I thought that I would be a fool for you but fools get played.
I thought that I will run the world with you but I guess I’m not so fast.
I thought you would stay but you packed your things and left.
I thought that I would be a fool for you, I guess I’m still the fool...



FINALLY,

I know this song or these lines aren’t anything spectacular but, they are pretty special to me and I am glad I could express myself through this means.

Hopefully, I get to write more songs and maybe one day, I’ll be brave enough to sing one.



987F0380-4180-48BD-BB5A-C3401D3589FF.jpeg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
47 Comments
Ecency