Shakira's electrifying performance at Copa America 2024

Freepik

Did you see the Shakira's electrifying performance during the Copa America final match between Argentina and Colombia? Just look at how electric it was! Watching it on YouTube, I wished I had been there to witness the moment, the short and mighty moment.

There's something about made stars; they don't struggle to make waves. Shakira started the show with her hit song, "Hips Don't Lie," from back in the early 2000s (2006), and the vibes felt like it was one of the hottest songs of the current days. I remember clearly that this song came out when I was in secondary school, and for sure, we (my friends and I) didn't understand the lyrics, but it was just interesting to sing along, dance along, and above all, organize a karaoke party with it in class.

Before the event, I already knew that Shakira was going to bring the stadium down with her performance. In fact, the internet went off when it was announced that she was going to perform. For sure, who wouldn't be hyped to hear that one of the living legends in music is performing her magic at a big football tournament?

Once a legend, always a legend.

One thing that Shakira is highly known for is her magical twisting of her body, especially her waist, which was the big initiator of that track when it was released in 2006. In this performance, Shakira brought the same old vibes. Her twisting was as usual as if she was 16 years old; every one of her moves was applaudable. And hey, her dance crew didn’t fail to deliver as well; those people complemented every one of her steps.

I wished Wyclef Jean had come on the scene. I wanted a full-blown movie (part 2) for that song again because Wyclef Jean's voice added a lot of aura to the song. I wish he had come with her that night; it would have been the biggest live performance (as far as I’m concerned).

Maybe you don't know what I'm talking about. Just take a look at the original video of the song below. I don't know the age of these guys now (I didn't go and check), but they were very young here.

Can you hear that masculine part of "Hey girl I can see your body moving..."? Source
That's a charm. Everything about the music is so sweet that one can't talk of Shakira without mentioning that hit track.

Well, Shakira went on to perform some of her other songs, which I'm not familiar with, and they still made a lot of sense, especially with the choreographic dances. No lies, I wasn't really into her as a big fan; I only know and like the popular songs. If you tell me to mention ten of her songs, I'm surely going to fail after mentioning this particular track, the World Cup song "Waka Waka," and "Beautiful Liar," which she did with Beyoncé.

Thanks.

Video sources: YouTube

I'm using this as a response to #julyinleo, Day 22.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency