A Sound Test and a Story

It's been a while since I last recorded something to post around here. I haven't been doing much in the side of music since my makeshift workshop has gained a little momentum. But, alas, I finished an instrument, and that means I need to make a sound test. I like doing it myself. However, I'm not an expert player.

There's when this thing came up. A year ago, I asked my teacher for the number a renown Cuatro Player from this city. It is the same person who tests his Venezuelan Cuatros. So, it would come in handy to have classes with a person like this. You might be wondering the name. His name is Alexander Mariña. And taking out of the picture Alfonzo Moreno (another reference for the Venezuelan Cuatro in the east side of the country), this is the guy for learning a lot about this instrument.

I talked to him on the phone and finally got the money to start my classes and well, needless to say I was flabbergasted by the skills of his. He's on his 60s but that just means he has developed his technique to a level that goes beyond what you can think about. I'm going to record him playing one of my instruments just to give you an idea.

But how famous is he? Well, he's the god-father and former teacher of one of the most famous Venezuelan Cuatro players of our times, Jorge Glen. Yeah, here's where I drop the mic.

I don't pretend reaching Olympic heights with my playing, but my intention is learning as much as I can. Not only to become a better musician, but to craft better instruments.

There's this funny episode of my first class when he asked me to play a Solo. Well, I couldn't remember any. In my first time in class, I was asking some stuff about harmony and rhythm in traditional music around here. It didn't dawn on me that as this is a Soloist Venezuelan Cuatro player, he would be interested in knowing if I had any skills whatsoever in the area. I tried something, and it wasn't very good. I hadn't been playing for a while. But with some help and commentary on the dos and don'ts in solo playing I got up to an interesting start.

With no further a due, here's the sound test of my 5th Venezuelan Cuatro. Also, there's a little bit of display of some tricks I've picked up during classes along with advices. Classes with this kind of teacher are a lot about watching, imitation and learning. That on itself is a hard exercise for my brain, but one that will help me get a grasp of things in a different way. That's always useful!

This instrument is currently on sale. If there's any Venezuelan friend interested in acquiring it. Just drop a comment. You can also give some feedback. Remember, I'm still learning about playing and making the instrument. Every bit of info will help me a lot.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
14 Comments
Ecency