The Fall of Civilization: Day 1 - 17 (Journal)

@alonicus released a prompt a few days ago asking us to think of a story based on the scenario that the world has ended and it's now time for the survivors to start rebuilding their shattered society and discuss a few of the trials and tribulations they may have had to overcome.

Here's A Link To The Prompt If You'd Like To Join In.

For this one I'm going for something different than I usually write, and I think I'll have a little bit of fun with it.



Source


Day 6: The Others

       6 long days since the incident. Everyone we're traveling with seem to be okay. My main focus is my wife. Cayla isn't talking much, and it's been a while since I saw her smile... been a while since I saw anyone smile; we're all just too numb.
       We met another group a few days back. They're walking the road with us for now. I still don't trust them, but our group leader, Hexton, is saying we're safe. "It's okay, the bigger our numbers the less chance there is of someone attacking us." He reassures us when out of earshot of them. But I don't like it. Sure, maybe we seem like more of a threat to outsiders, but we have no idea who they are, or why they seem so trusting. One of their people tried to guide us off course yesterday, luckily no one listened, and continued on with our own goal.
       "Don't let your guard down." That's what I told Cayla. Probably the only thing I've said to here in days. All the panic, and confusion. The what's, why's, and how's are all gone. Those deep gasps and weightless words are gone. I noticed that nobody seems to talk like they used to, and it has been less than a week. It's like our minds have shifted. Extended language and blabbering about nothing have ceased to exist. Communication is more direct now. It has to be, we have to keep our ears open to what could be out there. Could be an animal to hunt, or a party tracking us. It's been a while since I've been asked, "How are you?" Or, "Are you feeling okay?"

Day 7: The Estate

      We were passing through an old estate recently; houses were blown to bits, but there were a few intact. We spread out, searched them all, and gathered our spoils. A little while away we divided it all up between the two groups. Funny, nobody was grabbing wildly at the take. We all had our eyes pinpoint focused on every tin, every bottle, every loose pill. Truth be told, I thought that was going to be the moment our groups got into a fight, but we didn't. Maybe coexistence is possible. Although, I think they held back some stuff.
       These journal entries have been the only thing keeping me sane. If I thought about the end of it all and asked myself what I'd grab. I would have said anything at all, but not a pad and pen. I'm glad I got it though.

Day 9: The Divide

       Some of the others are talking a bit too loudly. Hexton is doing all he can to keep us together, but now Berrett is talking about taking over as leader. "I have been watching you for days now, and we're no closer to safety. I haven't slept, I've barely eaten, and I don't like these friends of yours."
       I somewhat agree, the others have stuck to themselves, and none of them have tried to join in with us, but in fairness, we haven't made much effort either.
       Berrett seems like the right kind of leader, but he's too brash, and too aggressive. Although, maybe he's the right person. I mean, this is a different world now. Perhaps Hexton isn't adapting well to this new place.
       If it comes to a vote I think I'll vote for Berrett. I don't like the others either. I saw one of them looking at Cayla for a bit too long, and when I told Hexton about it he said, "You're just imagining things." I know what I saw.

We're further from the city now... much further. We have come across far fewer built up areas recently. Hexton has mentioned a detour to the woods, for safety.



Source


Day 10: The Fight

       There was a fight. A big one. Hexton held his own for most of it, but Berrett plays by his own rules. I didn't want to watch it, but I'm ashamed to admit that it's the most interesting and exciting thing to happen since I don't know when.
       Berrett may have killed Hexton if it hadn't been for the others getting involved. They must have heard the commotion. Berrett was shouting about them as he was dragged off. "What's this?! Your new friends helping fight your battle!?" I never thought about it before, but maybe Hexton is working with them. I'm going to keep an eye on him.
       Oh, I nearly forgot to say. I got laid last night! Woo, I can't remember the last time I did. I don't know if it was the fight, the adrenaline, the boredom, but wow. Cayla was wild. She bit me during it. Right on my chest. Drew blood and everything. But, it was worth it.

Day 13: The Vote

       Okay, this is a big one. The vote was called, and Hexton won the majority rule, but only barely. Berrett wasn't happy, and neither was I for that matter. I think we need a strong leader and our current one just isn't it. We've all been talking, quietly - and people are thinking we should branch out, go our own way. The only thing stopping us is the fact we'd be outnumbered. What we need is the weapons. Kert is the "armourer" as he joked before. The problem is, he's loyal to Hexton, without those guns we can't branch off and it's not like we can just ask for them.
       This stupid cut on my chest isn't healing much. It kind of feels numb so that's probably a good sign. I should take a look but I'm too afraid. I winced earlier and Cayla tried to look but I stopped her.

Day 15: The Scout

       With all of the commotion in camp, we've neglected those others. They walk behind us, so much so that we can't see or hear them. When we set up camp they do so away from us. We're starting to think that they may be the ones sowing these seeds of doubt among our group.
       One of ours, Rhyne, went on a little scout last night. He said, "Their camp seems fine. They're all laughing, joking, talking, eating." Nothing like ours then. Since the fight, Berrett and Hexton haven't spoken, and even the camp is noticeably divided now.

Day 17: The Wound

       I got my wound checked. It started to smell bad. I didn't look at it but it must have been bad by the gasp Cayla let out.
       It was nice to see everyone gather round me and help out. It was as if everyone put their differences aside to make sure I was alright. It felt good. Even some of the others offered to help. One of them used to work in a hospital... they were a janitor, but I'll take it.
       I'm scared, but they told me it'll be okay. A couple of doses of antibiotics, water, and whatever food I can stomach will be enough. So long as it's coupled with plenty of rest.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
12 Comments
Ecency