Feeling Good REALLY IS A State Of Mind! How Did I Miss This For So Long?

I'm sure you've had that feeling before...

I'm certain you know the one, it's the moment you realise that although you know something logically and maybe even instinctively, internally you don't fully connect, you could say you don't really 'know you know'. I think of this as the period before the subconscious mind is convinced of the belief in question.

Everything I have ever learned about the autonomic nervous system and subconscious functions of the mind tells me that you cannot slip anything passed it based upon logical learnings. Conversely once you 'feel' a thing, it becomes a part of the unconscious programming.

The reason I bring this up is that although I have always felt I have a pretty decent grasp of how the physical body and conscious and unconscious mind all interact to change personal reality, I may have been wrong.

Maybe wrong is too strong a word but logic and science can only take you so far, feeling, it would seem is like the catalyst to genuine and lasting personal change.

I guess this shouldn't come as such a huge surprise to me, we are truly emotional beasts after all, and so dictated by strong emotional responses and instinctual, often unconscious compulsions.

As ever, I have started a seemingly simple post, with an even simpler central theme by overly complicating the fairly simple message I showed up to deliver, with too much introspection and a few hundred superfluous words!

Here's the point I turned up to share put as simply as a bombastic, wordy dude like me is capable of:

I have stopped feeling bloody awful and started feeling pretty damn good!

So what? I hear you cry... Spit it out Steven, I don't have all day!

Well my point is simply this, the process didn't start with a thunderbolt or grand realisation, there were no trumpets, bells or whistles and a vision of my ancient ancestors did not accompany the start of the journey.

It was simply this, I did some good stuff, made a few basically positive changes and the best way I can explain it is that a juggernaut began to trundle along gaining speed and now it seems to be dragging me along for the journey.

Although it sounds like hyperbole, it's safe to say I feel as though I am on the path to exponential, transformative, quite magnificent growth. The funny thing is that it has all begun to feel pretty effortless.

As for the nuts and bolts of what I have been doing, the strategies, results, benefits and learnings I have uncovered, that is for a series of posts that may be of benefit to others here over the coming weeks, today is not for that, today is ALL about feelings.

As I mentioned I am feeling fabulous, this after an extended period of feeling like garbage, I'm talking several years in a row. Of course there have been highs and lows over that time, I try and remain as positive as I can and have a decent outlook on the world and the experiences it provides to me.

The thing that has massively surprised me though is that the longer I feel good the more great things seem to happen, the more positive benefits my life provides.

The more this happens, the greater I feel, the more great things seem to happen, the greater I feel, the more wonderful thin... You see where I am going with this, right?

This stuff is like a self fulfilling prophecy, it's as though the more awesome you are feeling, your state of mind becomes more resilient and optimistic, the more those happiness floodgates seem to swing further open inviting in more great experiences.

Going back to what I said at the top of the post, this should maybe not be such a surprise, we all 'kind of' know this, right?

The reality of this happening though feels like a bloody revelation!

That's what I meant by the difference between when you intellectually know a thing versus when you know you know. Feeling it as well as experiencing the knowing has ramped things up times 1000.

I have never felt so much clarity regarding the future of my life, my goals and my confidence in them. Such overwhelming happiness brings with it an abundance of gratitude towards many things in life and a greater feeling of love towards others.

You may have experienced a thought that I strayed in to more esoteric territory with the above statement. I cannot apologise for that as I kind of feel as though I have done exactly that.

The rush of endorphins I am feeling with each passing day has made me feel more 'spiritual' for want of a better word and so much more eager for tomorrow as every tomorrow feels like an opportunity to feel even better about life and my place in it.

If you are reading this and you have not been feeling like you are in the greatest state of mind of late or you find you envy the way I am feeling, then take a moment to think...

Think about one thing in your life gives you cause for happiness?

Everyone has something in their life that they can draw inspiration from. Even if it takes a minute, think hard and choose something, hold it in your mind's eye and make a conscious effort to find inspiration in it. When your mind is in the state of seeking gratitude or focussed on a positive memory it is scientifically proven to be unable to hold negativity at the same time.

That is truly a great place to start changing your current mindset.

Once you have the nucleus of something positive, even if be something as simple as being happy that you woke up today and were able to experience another day of life, use it to grow that positive feeling and do not let go of the feeling! Make a conscious decision to become happier, more positive or empowered all built on that seemingly simple start.

If you are thinking this all sounds way too simple, you are wrong, I don't mean a little bit wrong, I mean 100% wrong, this is based on extremely solid, long-term scientific data, also just because a strategy sounds too simple does not detract from how powerful it is.

Oh and by the way, even if you are cynical, what do you have to lose from trying? More importantly, you may have a huge amount to gain.

Imagine waking up, jumping out of bed, eager to face the day? If that's not your reality right now then give it a go, seriously, just do it!

I have lived half a century on this blue and green orb we call home understanding the self fulfilling prophecy of feeling good bringing with it more happy feelings without fully experiencing it in glorious technicolour detail.

There are many ways of feeling wealthy in this life and I feel I have gotten to experience one of the most amazing forms of wealth available to mankind and I will NEVER stop the journey to make this feeling a central part of my life philosophy, today, tomorrow, the next day and the day after that, it is addictive.

Let me assure you it sure beats the hell out of feeling like rubbish!

One life is enough!.jpg

I would like to sign off by wishing you as much happiness as your heart can handle, when you reach that point, grow a bigger heart because sometimes more really is better!

Thank YOU for taking the time to read my post and if you're one of those amazing people who like to hit the comments section... Then I doubly thank YOU!

Either way I want you to know that you are appreciated!

Keep taking the time to connect with each-other both here and in the 'so-called' real world and try and look after each-other, because as you already know...

Together We're Just Better.png

image.png

I am an incredibly proud member of #TeamUK I love the global community immensely, but it is nice to have a home-team banner to add to my posts. The banner was made by the inimitable RoastMaster General himself @c0ff33a If you are an active UK member and would like to be added to the teamUK community on Discord, just let me know 😎

Most designs/photos are my own or created in Canva.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency