Why Did I Make Gallery-Worthy Art For An App I Rarely Use?

I did not expect to create beautiful art for an app I rarely use.

But here I am, entering another contest I was invited to, lol. And what can I say, it's fun, and I do love Ecency.

Plus, I've written about Hive's love of contests before, especially those held by @rutablockchain , @holos-lotus , and @ocd .

And it may seem a bit strange for me to be entering this one, since I'm mainly a PeakD user, and the contest is 'artwork for Ecency.'

So why am I entering?

  1. Because I do use Ecency from time to time, especially when I'm not near my laptop and forced to go 'mobile.'

  2. Because @dandays has sung the praises of Ecency's founder, @good-karma , and I trust Dan's opinion. (He also wanted me to redesign Ecency's UX/UI as I did for PeakD, and perhaps this contest will inspire me towards that...?)

  3. Because @cynshineonline suggested I join, and I aim to say yes to, and support, anything she does if I'm able. (Plus, the contest-runner @melinda010100 also said she'd like to see an entry from me :D)

  4. Because it takes insane amounts of work, creativity, effort, code, bug-testing, updating, and so on to create an app like Ecency, and everyone involved has done an amazing job, and deserve some love.

  5. Plus, the Ecency encouragement program keeps engaging with my posts even though I usually use PeakD. That's class.

So here's my entry for #artecency , I hope you enjoy.


Ecency_Art_Wallpaper_by_Ryzeonline.png

If you'd like to download the 1920x1080 original you can do so at this dropbox link. (I've also created a similar wallpaper with the Hive logo.)


Now, although it's rather minimalist and simple compared to what I usually do...

Quite a bit of thought went into this piece.

Here's a few nuances to note:

A. The tagline, "it's good karma", is a reference to Ecency's founder, as well as the vibe of the Ecency community.

B. The subtle words embedded in the piece are taken from ecency-user's posts, good-karma's presentation on it, and other various ecency related sources.

C. The colors are Ecency's 'brand colors.'

Other things to note:

The 'paint blobs' and tao symbol are from Envato.com, my favorite and most-used stock site, but heavily edited and manipulated in Photoshop, and I used the font 'Montserrat' instead of Ecency's 'Sansational' because it just looks similar but better, imho.

Also, I looked at all the other art submissions from the first #artecency contest, as well as current submissions to the second, and although they were all creative, inspiring, and wonderful, I believe what I've created is a 'cut above.'

(OK, I'm not that humble, but humility is overrated, and we need more people creating 'the best', and owning it proudly when they do.)

Anyway, there you have it.

My Ecency art, made with good karma in heart, to bring us together, and not apart.

Speaking of which, I'll tag a few artists who might be interested @danielvehe , @trippymane , and @charsdesign .

OK, that's all from me for now, but if anyone has any questions or ideas for posts, I've taken prompts before (like I made a couple posts from @ybanezkim26 's ideas) and would be happy to consider posting about anything you'd like.

Either way, thanks so much for reading, commenting, sharing, and even skimming, I appreciate you all and wish you an amazing day!

Much love,
-J

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
46 Comments
Ecency