Phone Photography Contest #16: Family [ENG/ESP]

“Family means no one gets left behind or forgotten.”

David Ogden Stiers



Family

A couple of years ago, at the beginning of 2022, I was diagnosed with hyperthyroidism, which caused me a significant weight loss, a slight hypertension, strong and frequent headaches and fluid retention in my lower extremities, which made it difficult to walk with agility.

After visiting the doctor and undergoing several tests, I finally started my treatment with the appropriate medications, which meant the beginning of my recovery.

A few months later, I had the opportunity to travel to the city of Caracas with my mother, my sister and her husband, an occasion I took advantage of to reconnect with my two children who have been living there since their mother and I separated in mid-2013, and whom, as a consequence of my health condition, I had not seen for some months.

During my short stay in the capital of the Republic, we met on a couple of occasions since the trip took place in July and both were still busy with their academic and work activities, so it was from 5 or 6 in the afternoon that we could meet.

Hace un par de años atrás, a principios de 2022 fuí diagnosticado con hipertiroidismo, lo que me causó una pérdida de peso importante, un ligero cuadro de hipertensión, fuertes y frecuentes dolores de cabeza y retención de líquidos en mis extremidades inferiores, lo que dificultaba caminar con agilidad.

Luego de visitar al médico y someterme a diversos exámenes, finalmente comencé mi tratamiento con los medicamentos adecuados, lo que significó el inicio de mi recuperación.

Unos meses después, tuve la oportunidad de viajar a la ciudad de Caracas con mi madre, mi hermana y su marido, ocasión que aproveché para reencontrarme con mis dos hijos quienes viven allá desde que su madre y yo nos separaramos a mediados de 2013, y a quienes, como consecuencia de mi estado de salud, no había visto en algunos meses.

Durante mi corta estadía en la capital de la República, nos reunimos en un par de ocasiones ya que el viaje se realizó en Julio y los dos aún se encontraban ocupados con sus actividades académicas y laborales, por lo que era a partir de las 5 o 6 de la tarde que podíamos encontrarnos.



That trip also served to reunite my mother with her grandchildren whom she had not seen for some time, so we prepared a dinner in the apartment where we were staying to celebrate as a family.

The next day, I went out to dinner with my children at a restaurant in the Las Mercedes area in the east of the city, which was also attended by their mother, whom we looked for on the way. In spite of our divorce, she and I maintain a very cordial and close relationship, without reproaches or useless resentments that rob us of the peace or serenity that every human being aspires or longs to achieve, in addition, we share a life project in common for more than two decades and within which our children were born and raised.

The only thing I regret about that time was the shortness of our reunion, which was compensated by the quality of the time we were able to share on that brief trip. On the other hand, when I look at the photos that I share today in this post, I am still amazed by the traces on my face and body that showed the deterioration I had experienced with the condition I had a couple of years ago, and that today I have significantly overcome.

También aquel viaje sirvió para que mi madre pudiera reencontrarse con sus nietos a quienes tampoco había visto en algún tiempo, por lo que preparamos una cena en el apartamento donde nos estábamos alojando para celebrar en familia.

Al día siguiente, salí a cenar con mis hijos en un restaurante en el sector de Las Mercedes al este de la ciudad, al que también acudió su madre a quien buscamos en el camino. A pesar de nuestro divorcio, ella y yo mantenemos una relación muy cordial y cercana, sin reproches o resentimientos inútiles que nos roben la paz o la serenidad que todo ser humano aspira o anhela alcanzar, además, compartimos un proyecto de vida en común por más de dos décadas y dentro del cual, nacieron y se criaron nuestros hijos.

Lo único que lamento de aquella vez, fué lo corto de nuestro reecuentro, lo cual se compensó con calidad en el tiempo que pudimos compartir en aquel breve viaje. Por otra parte, cuando observo las fotos que hoy comparto en este post, aún me causa asombro las huellas que en mi rostro y en mi cuerpo visibilizaban el deterioro que había experimentado con la condición que padecía hace un par de años atrás, y que hoy en día he superado significativamente.



All the Photos are of my Authorship, as well as the Edition of the same ones.


This is my entry for the Phone Photography Contest. This is an initiative of @untilwelearn.


U5dsgAmgYZEzsqx5mminCYebNQKMXdv_1680x8400.png

Camera: Samsung Galaxy A12
Photo Editor: Picsart / Snapseed
Location: Caracas, Miranda, Venezuela
Date: July 2022

Si les gustó este Post, los invito a apoyar mi trabajo siguiendo mi cuenta @manuelgil64 dejando sus comentarios y votando

¡Gracias!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency