Season Hunt Challenge - SNOWY BUILDINGS (Winter Hunt)

Snowy buildings - perfect theme for the Winter - I have photographed some, but not ordinary houses ๐Ÿ˜‰

Season Hunt Challenge - Winter Hunt - SNOWY BUILDINGS

SNOWY BUILDINGS
Season Hunt - Winter Hunt


Before I begin, let me tell you about the Season Hunt: since the beginning of Autumn, Barbara Orenya | @barbara-orenya is hosting a Challenge in the FeelGood Community:

Season Hunt

Every week a new theme is announced which suits to the actual season. At the moment we are having the Winter Hunt and this week's theme is:

SNOWY BUILDINGS
(https://ecency.com/hive-190931/@barbara-orenya/season-hunt-challenge-we-are-ff33847e89bf)

I want to begin with an image of a snowy shed that I have already posted last Winter. I have taken it in the same area where I have also taken the last images in this post near the Farchtensee lake in the mountains between the Drautal valley and the Gailtal valley (Wikipedia: Farchtensee English / Deutsch)

Season Hunt Challenge - Winter Hunt - SNOWY BUILDINGS
[click for fullsize]

As you can see, it has been snowing heavily and I have been lucky that the road has been cleared before I drove over that mountain pass (Windische Hรถhe - Wikipedia), but it was deeply snowed short time later anyway. I have had new winter tires on my car, so the snow wasn't a huge problem ๐Ÿ˜Ž

Now to the photos of this Winter:

First we are heading to a place close to where I live: The Hochosterwitz Castle is a well known castle on a huge rock in the middle of Carinthia (Hochosterwitz Castle - Wikipedia). 2022 had just begun when I thought it would be a good to take a photo of the snowy castle at sunrise. The clouds were nicely colouried in pastel pink and together with the snowy landscape the photo turned out quite nice, I think.

Season Hunt Challenge - Winter Hunt - SNOWY BUILDINGS
[click for fullsize]

Don't say there's no snowy building in the next photo ๐Ÿ˜‰
Wikipedia says that the English name of the "building" in the lower left corner of the photo is Tree Stand (Tree Stand - Wikipedia) which is called "Hochsitz" or "Ansitzeinrichtung" in German. Hunters use it to look out for deer or other animals.

Season Hunt Challenge - Winter Hunt - SNOWY BUILDINGS
[click for fullsize]

Actually, I wanted to take photos of the forest with the snow in the foreground and the dark clouds only, but then I thought, the Tree Stand would look quite interesting, although it imbalances the image to the left in my eyes.
By the way, it is a colour photo - natural monochrome can happen in wintertime only ;)

Now, back to the area where I have taken the first and also the last 3 photos in this post.
Right before you get to the Farchtensee lake there's a meadow where this crooked shed is to see. The snow was quite fresh when I took this photo last weekend at sunrise. One week later the trees haven't been that much snowy anymore, as you can see in the last photos below.

Season Hunt Challenge - Winter Hunt - SNOWY BUILDINGS
[click for fullsize]

When driving over the Kreuzberg Pass between Greifenburg in the Drautal valley and WeiรŸbriach in the Gailtal valley (Kreuzberg - Wikipedia) there's a nice parking spot from where you can see this cabin right across the road, which was nicely covered by snow last weekend.

Season Hunt Challenge - Winter Hunt - SNOWY BUILDINGS
[click for fullsize]

My sunrise photo trip on Saturday was not productive at all until I had this view of the Burgruine / Castle Ruins Griffen (Burgruine Griffen - Wikipedia) on my way back home.
The valley was beautifully covered by fog and only the higher regions like the castle were to see. In the background you can see the Karawanks mountain range with Hochobir mountain to the right.

Season Hunt Challenge - Winter Hunt - SNOWY BUILDINGS
[click for fullsize]

Well, when you see the next photos you might think I'm going to the same places all the time, and partly you are right, of course, but I like these places a lot and there's always something to take photos of :)

So, I was again at the Farchtensee lake yesterday and this time I took photos of the crooked shed from the opposite side than in the photo I have taken the weekend before. I wonder if it will still stand there next year, but these old sheds are well built and I think you will see more photos of it in future ;)

Season Hunt Challenge - Winter Hunt - SNOWY BUILDINGS
[click for fullsize]

There's a lot of snow on the ground and the trees in the shady areas are still covered by snow, but you can see that the trees behind have less and less snow the higher up the mountain or more exposed to the sun they are.

Season Hunt Challenge - Winter Hunt - SNOWY BUILDINGS
[click for fullsize]

On Google Maps you can see where about I have been and even this shed is visible.

Photographing with the zoom lens across the Farchtensee there are these little cabins on the other side, one is a boat house I believe. The lake is small, but a little big bigger than it seems on this photo, and it is below the snow and ice.

Season Hunt Challenge - Winter Hunt - SNOWY BUILDINGS
[click for fullsize]

So, this was my hunt for this week. I hope you enjoyed the wintry landscape of southern Austria.


Information

All photos were taken with the Canon EOS R and one of these lenses: Canon RF 24-105mm f/4 L IS USM, Canon RF 70-200mm f/4 L IS USM, Canon EF 16-35mm 1:4 L IS USM, Canon EF 50mm 1:1.8 L STM, SIGMA 105mm 1:2,8 DG MACRO HSM, Sigma 100-400mm f/5-6,3 DG OS HSM C.
If you are interested in the image data, I leave all EXIF and IPTC information stored in the pictures.


If you like my work I would appreciate an upvote, nice comment or maybe you want to share my post on your blog ๐Ÿ˜Š ... and maybe you would like to follow me, so that you never miss a post from me.

Thank you so much for visiting my blog
take care, stay safe and healthy,
Johann Piber @johannpiber
Photos and Text: @johannpiber | Johann Piber | All rights reserved - do not use without my permission
Please contact me if you would like to have one of my photos in full resolution.

> Have a look at my NFT's on the Foundation Plattform
> My Photos are listed at the OpenSea NFT Marketplace

>>> Twitter/JohannPiber <<<

>>> See my posts on my Pinmapple Profile Map <<<

Do you know this Badge?

It says "Thank you for partnering with the
Papillon Foundation
by participating in the
Weekly Hive Charity Giveaway.
".

+++ You can win HBD Hive Dollars +++

Do you want this Badge?

If you like this badge and if you want to help too,
you can learn more in this blog post of @combination:
Some Exciting News! Badge release!

>>> Not got a Hive account yet? Sign up free here! or here <<<


2022-01-17
#hive5 from Austria ๐Ÿ–๏ธ

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
113 Comments
Ecency