Season Hunt Challenge - Don't Leaf me, Bro

Hey folks,

this is my entry for a beautiful contest named "Season Hunt Challenge", hosted by @barbara-orenya, the hardworking Admin over at the Feel Good community.
If you're interested in this contest other than reading about it, you can find the introductory post here @barbara-orenya/season-hunt-challenge-week-2

I totally blew my chance to enter the contest in week one due to my lack of organisation, but as you can see with this post, I am glad to contribute to the challenge with a few photos, I shot at a very special place in this weeks installment, where we ought to hunt for leaves.

A week ago, I visited an old friend in a forest a couple kilometres outside of Hanover. I hadn't seen him in a long while, but that day, I felt the urge to visit him in his forever home in the middle of the woods.

This is not a normal forest, it is called a tree burial site ("Friedwald" as opposed to "Friedhof", which means cemetery). I guess, there is no real translation in English, but it is a place in a certified wooden area, where people's ashes are buried or spread and that serves as a natural cemetery.

img_20211102_wa0000_2_.jpg

img_20211102_wa0002.jpg

I hope, in looking at the pictures, you have a presentiment of how peaceful and divine this place is, especially, when you visit a friend or a family member, who's presence you feel very strongly, even if only imagined.

I miss him dearly every day and in wandering around these old trees, who may have seen generations of human beings coming through their home and stepping on hundreds of thousands of shed autumn leafs, it gives me piece of mind, when I think of him and know, he is not alone.

img_20211102_wa0004_2_.jpg

img_20211102_wa0005.jpg

img_20211102_wa0006.jpg

img_20211102_wa0007.jpg

As I touched one of the trees at the resting and prayer place (in the middle of the forest with a wooden cross and a few benches), I sincerely hoped, he knew, I was there.

img_20211102_wa0001.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
13 Comments
Ecency