My First Male Anime ~ Digital Sketch

Screenshot_20210513-092103.png

For the first time, I am making a male anime. I have seen a handful of them online from unique and different artists. I decided to give it a try too.
Its a simple side view sketch and though I did not expect too much from the work but it didn't turn out badly I believe

It took me less than the normal hours I do make sketches to even finish it up. Just less than 2 hours I was done with this. I took about 40 minutes for the outline sketch before painting, coloring, and blending the colors.
Let's check out a few processes of the work.

Steps And Processes

Step 1
This is when I started the outline sketch. Unlike the usual way of starting with the face, I rather started with the hair since its a male

Screenshot_20210513-080205.png

Step 2

I continued with the hair and then I went further to sketch the face inserting the eye, lips, nose, and ear with his earrings.

Screenshot_20210513-080239.png

Step 3

I drew the neck and then the shirt. I just wanted a simple shirt for the anime. Still trying out different patterns of dresses so for now I just needed a simple sketch.

Screenshot_20210513-080308.png

Step 4

Then the filling of colors began in this step. I choose a dim red color for the hair. I didn't want to give him a girlish kind of hair color so I thought red would be better.

Screenshot_20210513-081936.png

Step 5

Then I filled in the skin color, smothened the edges of the skin. Fixed the eyebrow color, the eyeballs, and also his earrings. I also colored his shirt, then I used a little bit of highlights to line some areas of the shirt.

Screenshot_20210513-084522.png

Step 6
Finally, I changed the background to a fitting one. I continued highlighting his shirt, then the skin and hair as well.

Screenshot_20210513-091703.png

I must say, my first male anime attempt didn't come out so bad and I think I will love making male sketches as well from now on.
Do tell me what you think of my first trial of male anime sketch.
I really appreciate and welcome your feedback and comments on this.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency