Worried By The Escalating Rate Of Insecurity And Violence In My Country. A Need For Re-Orientation By All And Sundry

I have been bothered by the terrible occurrences that have been happening in my country lately. Bandits and insurgents are kidnapping and killing people at a whim. They are also gradually making a lucrative business from their activities by asking for ransom from their victims. The nation's military is also having a tough time to put a stop to their activities. The northern and central part of the country is destabilized and in a state of unrest due to the disruption caused by bandits and insurgents.

Recently in my area of residence a conflict between commercial motorcyclists popularly called "Okada'' and levy collectors known as "Agbero'' broke out. Individuals who went about their daily endeavours were attacked and assaulted by these aggrieved groups. Pedestrians and passers-by at the scene of the incident had to run for safety as they were being attacked and assaulted. Petty thieves also cashed in on their luck and used the opportunity to dispossess people of their valuables. An ideal situation for them to exploit!
Motorists were not spared either as they were at the receiving end of all the commotion. They had their vehicles vandalized and were also robbed in the process.

I was on campus when I received a call from my mum informing me about what was transpiring off campus. She was worried about me because violence being unleashed by the aggrieved groups was close to my school. I allayed her fears by telling her I was okay and will take precautions for safety with the news she had relayed to me. I shared the news with my course-mates and was surprised that I was the only one that was not abreast of the incident. I was also told by one of my course-mates that an attempt was made by the aggrieved groups to come into our campus to cause mayhem. Fortunately for us they were repelled by the school's security personnels. I was relieved when I heard this! This incident made me ponder about how some individuals precipitate violence under the guise of provocation. Personally, I think this is not a valid reason to carry out such acts. It is a lame excuse!

There was pandemonium in the area for a considerable amount of time and students like me were confined to our school's premises. Fortunately for all and sundry security personnels were able to restore order and normalcy gradually returned. Sadly, a lot of damage on private and commercial properties had been done by the opposing groups. A major setback and loss for owners of those properties.

This incident revealed a lot of things about the current state of our society: Some individuals do not have regard for law and order. The unwillingness of some aggrieved parties to resolve conflicts in a civil manner. The lapses in our security system and the need for it to be revamped. I hope all these patterns will be negated. Our leaders need to take charge of security matters and make tough decisions when necessary. Security is a delicate matter and an important part of any country's life, it should be taken seriously. The military should be provided with funds, equipment, training and other support needed to enable them discharge their duties diligently. I hope the government addresses this issue of insecurity quickly! I also appeal to citizens to be law abiding and try to resolve their differences amicably. No country can develop in the midst of conflict and violence.

Have a splendid day folks.
Thanks for reading.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency