Uncharacteristic

Hmm...

I haven't been able to even start with this one for some time. As much as I have written when I started almost a year ago, I have barely done any in the past 2 or 3 months or so - reasons, too many to count. But today, this isn't a topic of discussion.


Image Source

So, just for fun, I gave a prompt to my dear friend @notacinephile and later on he sent one on my way; what influenced your writing style and what do you think when writing. It's been a few weeks since I opted to finish this piece. Yes, I had taken a long time - one of the reasons is, I recently wrote something that's about writing, even though these two questions weren't covered, I thought it's best to go through with it a bit later.

Honestly, I don't even think much about when I write. I'm more of a "whatever comes to mind" sort of a person. Heck, I haven't even been a writer a year ago. And since I have been here, as far as writing style goes, I don't think I have a specific style, although I think it's often Narrative and sometimes Persuasive. It's usually said that what you're writing is heavily influenced by what you're reading. Writing is a fairly new experience to me, and I'm still exploring and finding out what I'm good at, as well as not be mundane or repetitive but oftentimes it's proven hard. Perhaps if I had years and years of experience then I could distinctly pinpoint everything about what I'm following and/or what I'm trying to achieve - at this point, it's too soon to tell.

There are only so many things that I think of while writing. Sometimes there are two or three ideas that I can post about, oftentimes a hilarious conversation with someone, almost all the time it's a song on repeat or me singing with a voice equivalent to the noise of a cat dying - so, that's too many things circling in my mind. It's true when there are way too many things that keep playing on the loop at the back of your mind, it's hard to stay focus on what you're doing at the moment. I know this isn't the answer you're looking for, but that's how my freaking mind is, hence this is the answer you'll get. But sometimes, something so incredible clicks inside your mind, and that's all that keeps circling around your mind for a few minutes until you feel that there's no other thought screaming in the background - so what do you do? You get to your keyboard, you start fast typing and within 10 minutes there'll be 400+ words. Yes, I have those moments as well.

Some people say that writing is soothing - it has a calming effect. It does. And it is also true that while you're writing, you put effort into figuring out how you feel about that subject. The more you keep writing, the more in-depth the topic you go and the more your emotions come to the surface and get entangled - now, that's nothing to get worked up about. So while writing you may feel overwhelmed and that calming soothing effect usually comes after you've inked all the blank white pages. You can say writing is something out of the ordinary for me.

May be something atypical of me or for me.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment
Ecency