Into Thin Air - 8 - Soulless

He watched in utter disbelief.

The thought kept screaming in his head She is a bloody spirit and yet he wanted to run towards her to save her. And yet he found himself rooted to the spot. All he could do was stare bafflingly towards where she had dissipated. It was getting on his nerve.

"Oksana" He calls out in desperation. "Shit"


Image Source

The streaks of dark lilac on the horizon as the night slowly approached foreboded a gloomy evening. His voice trembled as he called out to her one more time. He didn't see her getting out of the lake yet he believed that she'll be back. She's a spirit, right! It's not going to end badly. He reasoned with himself. After waiting for a few more minutes, he quickly ran up the stairs to his house. He's dreading what happens next as if he's sure something horrible is about to happen. His whole being is on alert, preparing himself for whatever comes. Taking a step at a time, slowly and quietly, he heads towards the living room.

The phonograph is still playing but that only puts him more on edge. What was supposed to be his safe zone has turned out to be his constant peril. The night isn't going to end well no matter what. "Where is she? She couldn't have died... again?" There's a fine line between reality and fabrication, he believed, but these past few days all have been thrown into a big pile of confusion. He sits quietly in the armchair, waiting for everything to go haywire.

Now he waits... for it... the creature.

Hours have passed and yet there is no sign of it. He's still unmoving from his position, not even a slight change in his breathing but the hours have been strenuous; he slides and leans back to get more comfortable. The surrounding is trying to get back to normalcy; so much for extra theatrics. Should I go look for it? he thinks to himself. He has this nagging feeling that he's about to discover the relationship between the creature and Oksana. But slowly he gives up fighting against his body as he can't keep his eyes open. With so many assumptions running through his mind, he drifts off to a dreamless sleep on the chair.


Image Source

His phone rings which causes him to wake up from his slumber. He fished his phone from his pocket with groggy eyes, sees it was Manson calling him.

"Hey." He yawns.

"Hey man, did I wake you up?" Manson asks.

"Yea (yawn) well, I actually dozed off on the chair. So, what's with the sudden call at 2 AM?"

"I'll get my hands on some new information by tomorrow, hopefully. And sorry about this late hour call but I wanted you to know that I'll be coming over tomorrow as soon as I get the info."

"Really!" He brushes his hand over his face. "I have some information to share with you as well. I'll see you tomorrow then!"

"Be careful, alright?"

He cut the call and by the sound of it, Mason has found something that can put some light into what is happening. There were still a few hours till dawn. He goes over to his liquor cabinet to pour something for himself. He feels as if he saw something from the corner of his eye and tries to look in that same direction. Maybe it was nothing he thought but nothing is never just "nothing". For the moment he decides to shrug it off and walk on. Holing the glass in one hand, he's about to walk upstairs to his study but something caught his eyes briefly, and again it was nothing.

"Why aren't you asleep?" Her voice made him jump and he turned around.

"You!" He gasped. She drowned herself in the lake, didn't she? He was reminding himself.

"Yes, it's me. Why are you so surprised!" She chuckled.

"Well, I was expecting you to be honest." He says in one breath.

"Oh really! You were expecting someone else?" She cocked one of her eyebrows.

"Yes, I thought that thing would be crawling and I'd see it again." he says. This doesn't sit well with her, her brows furrow in displeasure and agitation.

"Why are you seeking it out! It scares me. It's dreadful." Her voice trembles.

"Why is it dreadful? What has it done? You know, I came face to face with it a few days ago but it didn't hurt me. Why do you disappear whenever it arrives? Do you have any clue about what is happening?"

"Stop it! Please, stop it! I know nothing. Please just stop." She starts to shake.

"I'm sorry. It was never in my intention to put you through all this but I need answers. Do you know anything at all!"

"I remember seeing it the first time. I was floating on the lake. It was so cold, I was freezing. Suddenly, I was standing on the edge and I didn't feel like staying anywhere near the lake anymore. It reminded me of how cold I felt. I walked inside the house but no one was there - kept calling out to everyone. The house was empty and I was all alone. I wasn't upset not to see my father but why did Nikolai leave? No one stayed for me. I felt so alone and I went to the attic, hid in a corner, and kept crying. I had no idea how long I was there but I heard that crawling sound. It frightened me. I kept looking at every corner but I couldn't find where it was coming from. The noise became unbearable, I couldn't take it anymore, so I shut my ear and eyes. I thought It would stop and it did. When it did, I opened my eye and saw the creature in front of me. I hide whenever it's around"


Image Source

He listened to her intently; she is terrified and he believes her but how can he confirm his suspicions. Finally, putting two and two together, although he saw the creature briefly and he came to this realization only recently, what she said, only confirms it.

How can he tell her that he believes she and the creature are the same entity?

How to tell her that she's afraid of her soulless feature.


Into Thin Air
Into Thin Air - 2
Into Thin Air - 3 - The House
Into Thin Air - 4 - Something Crawls
Into Thin Air - 5 - The Creature
Into Thin Air - 6 - Oksana
Into Thin Air - 7 - The Lake


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments
Ecency