Nature's coloring book

Hi everyone! Happy 2023. Wishing you all the very best in 202, let this be the best year yet for everyone.

It's good to be back after a break. The holidays are finally over, at least for me and as they say all good things come to an end. A new year always brings with it new hopes ad dreams. I only hope that this year would bring peace and goodwill to all men.

With more Covid fear enveloping the world as China opens its doors, the world seems to be even more unsettled than before. To test or not to test is the current question. With fear mongering and talks of lock down already making the rounds I decided to focus on the beautiful. I share with you images from my garden which will blow your mind away and take you into a land of colors and beauty.

This Justicia carnea, flamingo flower, or jacobinia is finally in bloom now in my garden. This plant almost died from ant and pest infestation and it was quite the job nursing it back to health. I am so happy to see it healthy and blooming.

Bromeliads are known for their pretty leaves and plume like flowers. This matchstick bromeliad is a favorite of mine as it differs from the others in the way its bloom are shaped. The colors are stunning and so pleasing to the eye. If there is one plant which is so special in my garden it is the Aechmea gamosepala or match stick bromeliad.

Morning glories are short lived flowers in my kind of weather. Yet when you see them in bloom in the mornings before the harsh heat of the sun makes them wilt they are sure to bring a smile to any face. I was able to capture this bloom with a couple of dew drops on them. The richness of the color of these morning glories make me want to grow them in every corner of my garden.

Mirroring the sun is this poinsettia. The pale yellow bracts and the frog mouthed blooms so tiny that they often go unnoticed are in the peak of their blooming season.

These red poinsettias are from my friends home. These are the wild uncultivated variety that grow in the wooded regions of our state. Sadly this year my red poinsettias didn't survive the rains and the pest attack.

I found these lovelies in my friend's neighborhood. These again are the wild poinsettias and they have grown to a height of forty feet. They look absolutely gorgeous swaying about in the wind.

Roses heavy with rain. Yes we still get a good amount of rain in the middle of winter which is unheard of. However, right now roses are not as plentiful as they usually are at this time of the year.

The Hibiscus schizopetalus or the lantern hibiscus or coral hibiscus have started to bloom again after going into a brief state of hibernation for a couple of months. I love to watch these flowers as they dance in the mild morning breeze.

The baby sun rose or the Mesembryanthemum cordifolium a semi succulent is blooming again with rains becoming infrequent. These tiny flowers look so pretty and need a lot of sunshine to bloom. I hope to see the plant blooming abundantly in spring. For now I enjoy the few blooms we have.

Having these colors around me all year through is so amazing. The mild winters we have here allow natures coloring book to come alive and warm the hearts of all those who enjoy nature. I know many of you are surrounded by snow and your world doesn't have as many natural colors, so this post is dedicated to you and I hope it brings you some warmth and cheer!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
17 Comments
Ecency