A Fish Out Of Water

I had a fish šŸŸ; not an ornamental one. It was the one and only Koi fish or Climbing Perch is what they call it in English.

I am not a fan of the idea of animal captivity, be it in a zoo or so-called safari park where they are kept to entertain the rich.

Anyway, I inherited an aquarium from my senior roommate in the dorm. But I had no plan to use it except for lighting candles inside it during blackouts.


kazuend_afp6m_cj0kk_unsplash.jpgPhoto by kazuend on Unsplash


So, after almost 3 years of emptiness, I thought petting a tough fish in it would be a good idea. Suddenly, my sense of animal rights is goneā€” not gone actually, but altered by the urge of liberating a fish from the imminent death it will face in hours once sold to someone else. Pretty decent, right?

Okay, I bought two fishesā€” alive, of course. They cost me only 20 taka and I brought them home in a polybag.

Yeah, I saved two lives.

After a quick Google research, I gave them some rice to eat. But they were reluctant to avoid them at any cost, so I gave them some puffed rice. Still, no interest.

Meanwhile, the bigger one started attacking the other one and kept doing so until it died the next morning.

So, itā€™s only oneā€”- the kingdom only for him to claim.

But it didnā€™t show any sign of hunger or its fondness towards food even a bitā€” made me anxious about its life. Am I going to kill it right here, right before my eyes? It made me a bit sadā€” after all, itā€™s a fish and I am not supposed to show sympathy to this insignificant creature.

This reminds me of a poster where the watery eyes were looking so helpless before a sharp knife was held by someone. Soon after the head was decapitated, the water just dripped down the scalesā€” I can still remember the entire scenario. Whenever I used to move toward the east through the corridor of my dormitory, it never failed to catch my eyes.

Thanks to the Almighty Iā€™m not a fish.

Anyway, probably it was after 4 days the fish began to eat after bringing home and killing its inmates. Maybe it was hungry and didnā€™t want to die too soon.

So, I bought fish feed from the market and our days was going well until the covid-19 hit the country and the govt. called a nationwide lockdown. I had to relocate to my village and I left the aquarium in the house thinking that the lockdown will be over soon and I will return shortly.

There was enough food for the fish in the aquarium for at least 7 days. So, after a quick calculation, I thought the fish would easily survive at least 10 days (7 days with food & 3 days without food).

But the lockdown stayed for 3 months in a row and I had no hope of finding it alive. Moreover, I was worried about the stink the dead fish would create in the room.

Luckily, when I returned after almost 3 months, I was surprised to see it ALIVE!

Koi fish, tough lifeā€” indeed! Survived 3 months without food!

But its head got bigger than the whole body, lack of food but a strong sense to stay alive! Also, the water was clean and crystal clearā€” the fish ate all the dirt and residue along with its waste to stay alive during the course of the time.

I changed the water and started feeding it again. But the fish was not so lucky and the aquarium got broken accidentally. Determined to keep it alive, I dedicated a big bucket as its new residence.

In the meantime, I bought another 10-12 Koi fishes and put the strongest ones in the bucket as it was big enough. But they were unable to survive as I realised later that all of the new fishes were raised in the firmā€” they donā€™t have the ability to survive like wild ones. And they all died the following day leaving the hero all alone, again!

Covid-19 lockdown again and once more, I had to relocate. But I didnā€™t abandon the fish like in the past. I took it to my villageā€” travelled almost 200km with me in a tiny jar, not enough to allow it to move freely.

When I released it in a bigger bucket after reaching home, I noticed it couldnā€™t get the tail straightā€” that tiny jar was responsible for that but it recovered in a day or two.

Days were going well for the fish and I returned to the capital leaving it to my family out there. But when death comes, you donā€™t need any excuses to be a victimā€” the same happened to the fish. One night it jumped out of the water and died miserably. But before death, it moved all around the roomā€” the trace of watery lines proved it.

Only if it didnā€™t come out of waterā€¦ā€¦. :(

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency