Visiting Hours...

pexels-photo-314726.jpeg


How good it would be if heaven had visiting hours
I would never miss the regular appointed time
I know it's all different there but that is absolutely fine
I wouldn't mind taking along with me your favourite wine
As I turn every visiting hours into a time to dine

How good it would be if heaven had visiting hours
I would make it all about you and everything ours
Patiently listening to all you have to say and that advice of yours
In that moment nothing else matters not even this world's cares
As I lay them all down with you even those of my greatest fears

How good it would be if heaven had visiting hours
For every trip I want I would keep all savings aside in the jars
I would get the finest of shoes even in their pairs
How amazingly beautiful it would be to watch the angels open the doors to the stairs
As they flap their wings while they usher us to the chairs

How good it would be if heaven had visiting hours
Who wouldn't want to take the joy in taking a visit to the upstairs?
The world is also in turmoil and most people seem to be tired of things downstairs
Everyone would take the liberty to visit their loved ones they missed over the years
And hope their words of comfort and change of scenery would dry their tears

How good it would be if heaven had visiting hours
I would visit you every single opportunity I got, dad and mum
I know you would both have continued up there your love affairs
I would have been familiar with how things work their, no need for tours
I wouldn't stop telling you both how much you have been missed here on earth

Ed Sheeran's "Visiting Hours" inspired this and I decided to go in another direction. I love the song and if you haven't listened to it, please do. It is a wonderful song filled with so much words and memories. I know this poetry doesn't come close to it but I got inspired to do something about it...going another route to birth this poetry to life. But really...how good would it be if heaven had visiting hours?

Picture Source


Thank you for your time.


My pen doesn't bleed, it speaks, with speed and ease.

Still me,

My tongue is like the pen of a ready writer.

Olawalium; (Love's chemical content, in human form). Take a dose today; doctor's order.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
48 Comments
Ecency