"I DON'T NEED A LOT OF THINGS TO BE HAPPY"

IMG_20210815_110856.jpg

I moved into my space this week. It has been a challenging and quite expensive journey. I am still trying to settle and recover from all the expenses I have been making (which is literally driving me crazy and there is still more to come).

Yesterday @blezyn told me I was quite boujee, which I honestly accept. I have got taste and I want the best (within my purchasing power).

However, the best doesn't always entail buying the most expensive things. For instance, I and my flatmate intended on painting the whole of our apartment with satin paint. To our greatest surprise, it was going to cost us over $500.

I was having none of that! $500?! To paint! what?!

So I had to think and I came up with a solution: how about we screed the walls which will give us the smooth look we wanted and then use emulsion paint? What if we could use wallpapers? Well, this is the result of that thought process:

IMG_20210815_111836.jpg

it cost use than $300 to achieve this look

We were able to save over $200 from the painting job, which we redirected to other needs. The point is, we were able to do something nice for a decent amount. Now someone might walk into our apartment and think we spent a whole lot of money but the opposite is the case here.

MINIMALISM

Moving into your space isn't cheap. This much I have learnt recently. Asides from the fact that things are quite expensive, having taste is expensive. You want things to look and feel in a certain way and that often attracts a premium price.

However, I have been thinking about how much I can do with less (for my space) and still achieve the look I want. One of the things I want to avoid is having too many things. I intentionally picked the smaller room in our platform because I want something compact and simple. I believe I am a lot more productive having or worrying about less.

Currently, I just have my bed and working station (which consists of a desk and chair) in my room. I initially wanted a wardrobe but it would take up a lot of space, and cost a lot more. So I had to think of what I actually wanted, which is a space for my clothing.

So I have decided to go for a cupboard that will house my clothing and accessories (something like this but smaller. It will cost me around $50, which is half the price of the double-wardrobe I intended on purchase.

I will still achieve a clean and minimalistic look without breaking the bank, which I find exciting. Yes, I might be boujee but I can do some on a budget.

I am still in the process of decluttering my life. I plan to live as simply and conveniently as possible and also reinforce one of my ideals, which is that I don't need a lot of things to be happy.

I will keep you guys updated as I work on my space. Cheers!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
15 Comments
Ecency