Parasitic Growth and the spectacular Triple Opportunity attack

Untitled design.png

image.png

Hello warriors!

I hope you all are having a pleasant time. For those who are active members of any splinterlands guild and playing brawls routinely, you may have already opened one or more gladiolus packs. Yes, if you haven't heard, Gladius packs has already been launched and can be bought in guild market via merit tokens that you earn for playing guild brawls. Since the brawl 2.0 has released, I have played 2 brawls with red-dog account and won both of them. Upon the winning of the first brawl after 2.0 update, I got total 4900 merit and got 4050 merit on winning the second one as our guild placed first in both those brawls. I bought total 4 packs till now as they cost 2000 merit per pack. On my first 2 packs, I pulled a gold foil epic and a gold foil common which I have already shared on one of my previous blogs. After the second brawl, I again used my merit to buy packs and I got total 4 rares and rest commons from my 2 packs this time.

Gladius cards are awesome and each of them are more powerful than their peers thanks to the new bloodlust ability. Thank God they are not allowed on ranked matches or tourneys or the whole game plan would have changed. The distribution of gladius packs will also be slow as you would get only 2 or 1 glad pack per brawl match considering you did well. BATTERING RAM also have to play and collect more cards from those packs to upgrade my glad cards from level 1.

Moving forward, today I have a very special monster to showcase you guys. It belongs from the neutral tribe and I wont be wrong if I call it an opportunist as it always attacks the enemy with lowest health. It feeds upon enemy like a parasite and grows every time it gets a bite. Yes, as you have already guessed from the thumbnail, Today I will talk about Parasitic Growth.

Parasitic got launched with the untamed edition packs. It costs 4 mana to use in battlefield and It is a melee attack monster with opportunity ability, means it will attack the enemy monster that possesses the lowest health. As it is a neutral monster, it can be used with any summoner that you want considering it is not blocked by any rule set.

What's the advantages of using Parasitic Growth??

  • Parasitic growth costs only 4 mana so you can use it in small mana limit matches. It can be also a good choice for little league matches where you cant use monsters that costs more than 4 mana.

  • Parasitic Growth has Opportunity ability so in mini mana matches it can kill low health enemies with a single blow. You can use weaken ability monsters with it to reduce enemy monster health so that it will perform better.

  • Parasitic Growth also has scavenger ability so every time a monster dies 0on the battlefield, it gains +1 health. So, you can use this ability where defense will matter over attack. Maybe in noxious fumes rule set where it will gain more and health every time a monster dies.

  • At max level it has 4 melee attack which can't be neglected at all. Buff up it's melee attack with malric or increase its speed with speed agent cards (brownie, ooze) and try different combinations with this card, I hope you will find more and more combos with this one.

Abilities

image.png

Opportunity

Monsters with opportunity ability will attack the enemy monster having lowest health.

image.png

Scavenger

Monsters with Scavenger ability will gain +1 health every time a monster dies on that current match.

Market Stat

image.png

Currently there are a total of 5 maxx Parasitic Growth you can find on splinterlands market and the lowest one among them is available for 695.95$ (110,785.419 DEC). The single BCX cards are starting from 0.80 - 0.85$ and comparatively cheaper than those max levels.

Battle Line-up

image.png

Battle Link: Click here

mana Cap: 26

Splinters allowed: Fire, Earth, Life and Death.

Ruleset:`

  • Weak magic - Magic attacks will hit and destroy armors first before reaching the health.

  • Healed Out - No monsters can be healed in this match.

It was a small mana match this time with weak Armour ruleset so my opponent most probably will attack will attack with either melee or range attacks. Also, as there will be no healers in this match, I will go for an attack stance rather than defending. A it is a weak magic match, my opponent may also use monsters with armor on them so I chose Wizard of Eastwood summoner from the earth splinter in this match. Let me now share my lineup and why i chose them.

image.png

UNICORN MUSTANG

Thou I predicted my enemy wont attack with magic upon me, I chose the UNICORN MUSTANG at my first place because of it's piercing high powered melee attack with a good amount of health to stay long against them. I am using a level 8 here and it has 5 melee attack at 4 speed and 13 health along with 3 abilities - Void, Magic Reflect and Piercing.

image.png

ORC SERGEANT

I chose the v at the second place of my line up as he has inspire ability and as I am going to make an all melee lineup this time, it will be super useful to have him at my side. I am using a level 10 and it has 3 melee attack at 4 speed and 8 health and with 2 abilities - Reach and Inspire.

image.png

BATTERING RAM

I chose BATTERING RAM at the third place and it's the first opportunity monster that i am using in this battle. yes, I made a full opportunity deck this time and used total 3 opportunity monsters in here. The Ram that I am using is level 10 and it has 2 melee attack at 5 speed and 3 health along with 2 abilities - opportunity and shatter.

image.png

SCREECHING VULTURE

I chose SCREECHING VULTURE at the fourth place of my lineup and it's the second opportunity monster that i am using. It also has scavenger ability so it's health will increase with Parasitic Growth as well. i have a level 10 and it has 3 melee attack at 5 speed and 4 health.

image.png

PARASITIC GROWTH

PARASITIC GROWTH is the third opportunity monster that i am using and I placed it at the fifth position of my lineup. It also has scavenger ability so both vulture and parasitic will stand long in this match I hope. I have a level 10 and it has 3 melee attack at 3 speed and 5 health.

image.png

BROWNIE

Brownie is the last monster of my lineup. I used it as for only 1 mana, it gives both swift and inspire ability. I used it at last position which was a risky move as if my opponent uses sneak monster, it will get down with first blow. But let's see how that goes. I am using a level 5 and it has 1 melee attack at 6 speed and 2 health.

Match result

image.png

This time I got a very tough opponent but as I guessed, he went with range monsters. He used a buff-less 2 mana fire summoner Talia. But he used kobold miner sneak card so my brownie will be soon in first round and I will get only one melee attack buff from Monkey's inspire ability. My opportunity monster will attack that chicken first in the third place and next they will go serially as all those enemy cards behind the chicken has same 5 health.

image.png

At the first round, both the enemy serpent and Fineas rage attacked back to back and brought down my Mustang's health to 4. My vulture attacked afterwards and killed down the chicken as I calculated and then another opportunity monster Ram went and damaged the fire demon's health to 1. Now my Mustang and Monkey attacked together and killed down the evil serpent. Then, the enemy kobold attacked and killed my brownie down but it was a collateral damage I had to pay to give my opportunity monsters a bit more time. Afterwards, the enemy ferexia attacked and killed down my wounded mustang and the fire demon hit my monkey. At Last, my parasitic growth attacked the damaged fire demon and beat it down.

image.png

At second round, as I expected, both of my scavenger monsters got a good amount of health gain. The fineas attacked first this time and killed down my monkey and also damaged my Ram with it's retaliate ability. But my parasitic growth also killed that ferexia with its attack and only 2 monsters were left in the opponent team.

image.png

At third round, I had only my 2 opportunity monsters left but they were so buffed up with increased health because of their scavenger ability. Anyways, no death in this round, only the parasitic and kobold attacked each other and same goes to the fineas and vulture.

image.png

At round 4, thou my parasitic got another hit from the enemy kobold, it successfully killed it this time as the kobold was having only 2 health remaining. Now, its 2v1.

The fight continues in round 5 as well and finally at round 6, I killed the last remaining one with my opportunity warriors. The enemy fineas also did really well in this match as he landed several extra attacks with the help of it's retaliate ability. But my Vulture evade some melee attacks as well thanks to it's flying ability and putting it in the fourth place to protect my parasitic growth was a good idea. Anyways, luck was on my side this time and my opportunity strategy worked perfectly.

Wish you all good luck on all of your future SL matches.

Thanks for visiting my post.

Stay well and keep playing Splinterlands.

Want to start playing splinterlands? Click here

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency