Grumpy Dwarf - the most ill tempered monster of Splinterlands

grumpy.png

image.png

what's up Splinter folks!

I hope you all are too busy playing for the leaderbaords as only 15 hours left for this season to end! i am as usual fighting for the diamond leaderbaord with both the accounts that I am playing but it seems harder this season than the previous one. Just now, I somehow pushed the red-dog account to 3800 trophies but still about 100+ trophies left for it to reach the 30k dec prize. I haven't started with my own mango-juice account yet and it is currently lying at 3700 trophies and obviously out of the prize league.

On the other hand, Splinterlands has changed the tourney prize structure and instead of DEC as all official splinterlands tournaments, there will be SPS available as winning prizes. The entry fees of the official tournaments have been also changed from DEC to SPS tokens. So we have now one more use cases of SPS apart from just staking. But this incident of replacing SPS with DEC as tournament prizes may hurt some of you as from now dec can be only earned through ranked battles and some private tourneys or if you sell/burn your cards. I am getting a feeling here that DEC will see some upward trend due to this and on the other hand, people will stake less SPS and keep liquid more to pay those tourney fees so the APR will be stable for some time. Current APR for staking SPS is-game is 157% which is still lucrative. Those who already have a fat amount of SPS staked won't face problems as they would earn enough to pay for the tourney fees. But for those who didn't - just see at those entry fees XD

image.png

image.png



Now, let us move towards our weekly battle post and this time I will showcase the one you have been thinking as a useless monster. Yes, I am talking about Grumpy Dwarf!!

image.png

No one knows the real cause behind this dwarf's ill temper but it always is angry and ready for another fist fight. But, Is grumpy dwarf really a not-so-good to keep in hand monster nowadays? I haven't seen as grumpy dwarf for ages fighting against me and also forgot the last time I used it in battlefield. When you have so many cards to choose from, you get used to playing with the best that you have and slowly forgot others. I always have alternative options than choosing Grumpy dwarf. But today, I will try to use this old folk in my lineup and see how he performs in today's battle.

What's the advantages of using grumpy dwarf.

  • Grumpy Dwarf costs 4 mana so its a good choice for little league matches. You can use it behind Cerberus so that it can stay alive for a while.

  • Grumpy Dwarf has enrage ability from level 5. If you can somehow bring a little damage to it's health, it will unlock it's enrage ability and will provide more melee attack and speed to it.

  • In equalizer matches, grumpy Dwarf can become very usable as it's low health will get enlarged so you will get more out of it's enrage ability.

  • Grumpy dwarf may have a little health but it also possesses Armour so it is weak against magic attacks but strong again melee and range attacks. When there is no magic rule set, it can be a good card to use in battles.

Abilities

image.png

Reach

Melee Monsters with Reach ability can attack from the second position of your lineup.

image.png

Enrage

When damaged, monsters with enrage ability will have increased melee attack and speed.



Market Stat

image.png

Grumpy dwarf, unlike most other monsters have enough availability and you can see some cheap max level grump dwarfs on market tab, the cheapest max level grumpy dwarf you can get for 3808$ (48,133.558 DEC). The single bcx cards are available from 1$ and will cost you 126.667 DEC.



Battle Line-up

image.png

Battle Link: Click here

mana Cap: 25

Splinters allowed: Fire, Earth, Life, Death and dragon.

Ruleset:

  • Target Practice - All range and magic monsters will have snipe ability.

  • Broken Arrows - No range monster can be used in this match.

It was a medium mana match and all the range monsters were blocked in this match. Now, as water summoner is not available, my opponent will either use a fire melee deck against me or he can come with earth/dragon summoner and some magic monster and a defensive card at front. In the first case speed will matter and in the second case, attack will matter. I put my bet with the speed and choose a fast deck instead of a magic deck this time. Let me now share my deck and why I chose them starting from first position.

image.png

SERPENTINE SOLDIER

I used SERPENTINE SOLDIER at the first place of my line up as when it comes to speed it even beats cocatrice. On one hand it will evade enemy attacks by it's high speed and dodge ability and on the other hand, With it's thorns attack it will damage back melee attackers. I am using a level 8 here and it has 3 melee attack with 6 speed, 1 Armour and 7 health along with 3 abilities - shield, dodge and thorns.

image.png

GRUMPY DWARF

I used GRUMPY DWARF at the second position as it has decent stat with reach ability so it can attack from second position. Also, if it's enrage ability gets unlocked, I will get higher attacks from it. I am using a level 10 in here and it has 3 melee attack at 3 speed, 3 Armour and 4 health.

image.png

KOBOLD MINER

I chose KOBOLD MINER in the third place of my lineup because of it's sneak stat. Kobold has high speed and good melee attack at just 2 mana cost so it is really useful in this match. I am using a level 10 here and it has 3 melee attack at 5 speed and 6 health along with sneak ability with it.

image.png

SERPENTINE SPY

I chose the spy at fourth place of my line up. Spy is the best opportunity card I have found so far as it has unmatched speed and attack and it mostly attacks first when a round starts. I am using a level 10 here and it has 4 melee attack at 6 speed and 3 health. It also has 2 abilities - opportunity and poison.

image.png

ELVEN CUTTHROAT

I chose ELVEN CUTTHROAT at the fifth place and I used him for his sneak ability with over powered attack and speed. The Kobold and Elven duo together will bring immense amount of damage to the rear monsters of the opponent. I am using a level 10 ELVEN CUTTHROAT here and it has 3 melee attack at 6 speed and 5 health along with sneak ability.

image.png

FLAME IMP

I chose the FLAME IMP at the last position of my lineup. It has high speed with flying and swift ability so it will speed up all my friendly monsters and will also be hard to target upon. i am using a level 8 here and it has 2 magic attack at 5 speed and 4 health along with Swift and flying ability.



Match result

image.png

When the match got revealed, I found out that my opponent has used all magic attack upon me. He used a max level cube for defense and used 3 magic monsters for attack. While his wood nymph will heal up the cube time by time so that it stays for a long time, his goblin will target my flame imp and the max level Diamond Dragon will attack my front defense Serpentine soldier.

In this match, first of all I used the legendary fire summoner Plado to get + 1 speed as well apart from the +1 melee attack and also used the flame imp to get another +1 speed on my friendly monsters so all my monsters will now hold high speed. But, as you can clearly see in the line up, # of my monsters were focused to attack to enemy front defense while 2 sneak monsters were about to target the rear monster and the spy will attack the goblin which is in middle. So, basically my attacks are scattered to 3 directions. My opponent on the other hand were focusing my flame Imp will all 3 of it's magic attackers as it was a target practice match. But as I have more speed here, most probably my spy will attack and kill the goblin first before they could attack my flame imp. But I am in fear with that Diamond Dragon st back as it has a great amount of shield upon it and my sneak duos will find it hard to break it down. Let us now move to the real match and see what actually happens round by round.

image.png

After applying all the summoners and monsters buffs and debuffs here you can see the actual stats of all the monsters just before they start the battle. All my monster are having high speed so as I thought, most of them will attack before the enemy starts attacking.

At round 1, my soldier did the first attack and killed down the enemy chicken. My spy attacked afterwards and killed the enemy goblin so I have 2 monsters less to kill now. After that, both my sneak monsters attacked the diamond dragon but still it had 2 Armour left with an undamaged health. The enemy wood nymph attacked my imp and reduced it's health to 2 and then the diamond dragon attacked and killed it down.

image.png

At round 2, my soldier attacked first and reduced the cube's health to 12. The elven went to attack the diamond dragon then but missed his chance. But after that, my spy attacked and successfully took down the enemy wood nymph leaving only 2 monsters to kill. My kobold attacked afterwards and broke down the shield of the diamond dragon. The dragon also attacked back and damaged my soldier's health to 4 while the dwarf also attacked with his 4 melee power and damaged the cube furthermore.

image.png

At third round, only the shield less dragon and the half dead cube were left to be taken down and my soldier again attacked first and damaged the cube's health back to 10. My spy attacked after it and reduced the dragon's health to just 1 and also applied poison upon him. The elven attacked next and he finally killed down the dragon and at this time, only the attack less cube was standing so I knew that I am winning this match. The dwarf and kobold attacked on it then and reduced it's health to just 3. But it healed itself back to 8.

image.png

At the last round, I had an attack less target to kill down and my soldier started attacking and reduced it's health from 8 to 4. The Spy landed the final blow and with it's deadly 5 attack stat, I killed down the damaged Cube and made me the winner of this match.

It was rally fun playing with a different style and choosing offensive stance with speed rather than going with the defensive magic deck was fruitful for me this time. As the opponent chose magic attackers against me, they chose the flame imp and not the soldier to attack because of this target Practice ruleset so my soldier and dwarf was protected fro the beginning. The dwarf hence was alive throughout the whole match and launch many attacks on the cube. This proves the fact once again that no monster is useless in splinterlands, you just have to know the right time and the right way to use it. I also wish you all good luck with the leaderboard! Just do with your best!


Thanks for visiting my post.

Stay well and keep playing Splinterlands.

Want to start playing splinterlands? Click here

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency