Would I Change My Career Choice If I Had The Opportunity?


Hello everyone, trust I meet y'all doing good?

I had initially started typing this as a comment under @blezyn's post where she talked about CHANGING CAREERand then asked at the end of her blog post "Would you change your career if you had the opportunity? And why?". I felt this could also turn into blog post for me, so here you have it.

»»-------------¤-------------««

One of my teachers in high school always hinted that I was going to be an accountant.

@blezyn

It seems virtually everyone's initial career choice was influenced by a third party. I could remember when I was about 8 years old or so, still in my primary school. My parent used to tell me I'd become an engineering because I was always fond of trying to open up one electronics appliance or the other wanting to see what's inside and how it works. And indeed, I love doing that even up till this present moment. That was one major factors that set me on the path of engineering. In fact, picking a course of study when entering into secondary school and into the higher institution was a very easy task for me because I was told that if I want to satisfy my curiousity about electronics, engineering was the path to follow.

But along the line, my passion for engineering began to encounter doubts when I concluded my National Diploma (ND) program and went I went my Industrial training (IT) program at this big tech company named Center4Tech. I got to realize that there were other cool career that even interests me more that I can even begin to get hands-on experience on them right away. One reason why doubt began to kick in as to if I was still wiling to pursue being an Electrical engineer was influenced by the poor practical system that Nigerian institution practiced. Being an Electrical engineer began to get boring to me because we I was taught in school was more of just theorems and calculations with little or no practical, and a lot of the courses I took were beginning to become difficult and challenging already.

During my Industrial training (IT) program, I was exposed to more cool stuffs such as programming, game development, TV and Media production. There was also a department for Electronics which was my career major but TV and Media production dominated my interest. My interest for media related stuff all began when I started working for a brand on Steemit then called Oracle-D which later rebranded as Yoo-Doo before finally going out of extinction. I literally knew nothing about Media (Graphics Design, Video production/editing, Creative writing, etc.), but working with them for about ten (10) months or so reshaped me, taught me these media related stuff, and ignited a spark in me to begin learning more about Media.

The lockdown also kicked in and I was off school, which then made me tilted towards what I had at my reach. During the lockdown, I was busy consuming media related stuffs and I was taking numerous courses online. I had a smartphone and a laptop which helped me to learn how to animate, design, and edit videos. At some point, I began to regret why I had discovered my passion for Engineering first before Media production. I even began to tell myself that I was just going to drop out of school and pursue this new passion for Media I've just discovered as a my new career 😂. I though of it very hard and I realize that presenting such a proposal to my parents will only break their hearts and they would forcefully talk me out of it.

Since then, I haven't really been over hyped when it comes to anything engineering related, but it still interests me anyways. I've always wanted to begin having hands-on on what interests me as early as possible which is a great way to keep my passion burning for such interest. But I must admit, it hasn't been easy trying to purse both a career in Electrical engineering (Physically) and Media production (Virtually). Both are very expensive to practice on a an individual scale.

So does this means I'd change my career if I was presented the opportunity to do so? FREAKING NO!

I feel super happy and special having been equipped with some quality level of knowledge in both contrasting careers and I'd continue to leverage on both skills moving on into my future. I consider Electrical engineering as my first career choice, while Media production would either comes in as a backup plan or rather play alongside as a second career choice 😊. I'd wouldn't mind being your Director/Electrical Engineer.

Electrical Engineering still remains my Career choice!


I discussed in a video sometimes last year about my career and passion. Feel free to check it out too 🙂


Feel free to leave @blezyn a comment on her post where she asked if would you change your career if you had the opportunity? And why?".

...

THANKS FOR VISITING MY BLOG
BEST REGARDS

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
14 Comments
Ecency