Small Things in Life

4D7A3717-8AD1-4C37-AC36-8AE124BEC266.jpeg

There is a special resemblance between kids and the elderly. Just as a newborn baby needs to be cared for until it is fully developed, so does an older person need to be looked after for at a certain age. But the difference between these two types of supervision is that children are cared with joy and the elderly are treated with resentment. The matter may seem a little inhuman, but it is the reality. The person who was once the head of the family, in the course of time, became the burden of everyone.

My grandmother could not get out of bed for about a year before she died. Everything from eating, drinking and other activities had to be done in bed. It's hard to imagine a woman lying in the same bed day after day with an intense desire to embrace death. Maybe in every moment she was thinking survival at this age is a curse. The person who once roamed freely is now passing the days in bed with exhausted body and it is very difficult to find a companion to talk to. Due to her age, she can't hear well these days. There are few people around who have the willingness as it is required much energy to talk with her loudly. There is nothing to blame here because everyone is so busy with life's struggles that no one has enough time to give her.

Today I am going to write about ‘Small Things in Life.’ I don't know, maybe I'm writing something random. But in the true sense, it is the memory of our small joys and sorrows that surrounds our lives. I am sharing such a small event that sometimes leaves a big mark in our lives. Staying at my house for about a month my parents decided to go to my younger brother’s residence. Hearing this, tears welled-up in my kids and their grandmother’s eyes. Noticing this I was also trying to be normal but later I couldn’t hold myself. This is some of the moments of life you can’t control yourself. When she got in the car, my mother called me and said, ‘be well and pray for me so that I can die in good health’. I don't want my condition to be like your grandmother's. Despite my own hesitancy, I agreed with her.

There is a word in the literature which is- ‘Bleeding in the heart’(হৃদয়ে রক্তক্ষরণ). I don't really know if there is anything like bleeding in the heart. But since I listened to my mother's last words, a lot of emptiness has been working inside me. I am very lucky that my parents are still alive and I am still blessed with their love. No one can fully realize the great blessing that a parent has for a child unless he becomes the parent of his own kids. These are the only relationships in the world who will unselfishly give everything to you and in return all they want-

আমার সন্তান যেন থাকে দুধে-ভাতে

After a long time while writing this, my eyes were getting blurred. I haven't hugged my mother for a long time. Now the thing I only want is to feel the warmth of her heart....

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
10 Comments
Ecency