BDC CONTEST- A Book that was Mystic!

Hello folks!
How you doing?
Today I've come with my entry for the beautiful contest thing going on @bdcommunity right now. I am truly happy to be here..
So let's see. Huh!

Donno! You may or may not call it early childhood or not; at that time I was a kid of grade five or four I clearly couldn’t recall though. A terrible thing happened to me back then. Fortunately or unfortunately a book came on my hand and not only that; it simply made that much of an impression that even now I'm typing about it. Makes me bewildered now!

Back then like the other kids I had some kind of fascination with storybooks, especially those that contain amazing drawings or colorful paintings in it. But surprisingly the book I'm going to introduce to you was not in that category.

img_0.0655239922023552.jpg

Image Source

Bibhutibhushan Bandyopadhyay was the writer of that book namely Pather Panchali; I simply found him as a successful creator of mysticism that made me astonished going through his story. Apu and Durga's adventures were so vivid to me that it was like all the incidents happening just before my eyes and I thought I was not reading that story; rather I am living in it.

It was like my gosh! type feeling for me at that time. I took the book and couldn’t put it down untill I finish it. I guess you call these types of books as Unputdown Books!. However, I can say till now on I've read it several times but the very first one! was nothing like anything.

The book was divided into several parts like আম আঁটির ভেঁপু, বল্লালী বলাই, মাঠের পারের দূরের দেশ.... I mentioned the exact bengali name because I think I can't bring their true perspective translating it. The setting and the amazing pastoral beauty of the pristine Country life was beautifully pictured which opened a new world and new way of looking into things to me.

I was literally playing the mythical roles and fighting monsters like the character Apu does in the story. A simple story can be so impactful to an individual that he might try this story for a film!

img_0.3196595209816784.jpg

Image Source

More surprisingly Satyajit Ray made this come true. Made his noteworthy movie based on this book. I got the chance to watch it many years later; you can say in my University days. It was just amazing! It is said that When two great minds work together, something even greater cometh!.

Ray got an Academy Award for that film; many of his critics still call him mystic for the film he made out of that book. But he naively answered it was the author who is the true creator of those mystic moments. But he filmed it in a way that even today young film enthusiasts take a back on what he has done.

Moreover, reading that book at that early age brought a thing which many might call as তাফালিং in bengali. I have no idea what english word can replace it. Because whatever we tried reading out of textbooks was considered a waste of time and they were like banned for many of my friends. But I was a bit lucky! And I am grateful for that.

You will be amazed to know that this small incident has changed my entire life. I started reading books especially the out books! I mentioned earlier. I ate a full plate of stories and whatever came around me.

Detective, horror, mystery, myth, fables, poems, comics, sci-fi and what not. Literally I was like গোগ্রাসে গিলতাম আরকি.

So, my friends that's all for today. And I hope you like it. I invite @nonsowrites to share your piece for the contest...

Thanking you
@chrysanthemum
And Chillax!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency