DEALING WITH DISAPPOINTMENTS

signs-416444_1280.png
Source

Disappointment is the feeling of dissatisfaction that follows the failure of expectations or hopes to manifest. Similar to regret, it differs in that a person who feels regret focuses primarily on the personal choices that contributed to a poor outcome, while a person feeling disappointment focuses on the outcome itself.

  • Wikipedia

We've all had our fair share of disappointment in life. Ranging from things we hoped to achieve to things we couldn't achieve to things we were prevented from achieving.

Most of our disappointments are a result of events that are out of our control. So there is not much we can do about it. However, what we are in control of is how we deal with the supposed disappointment.

Last night I had a client come to me with a demand. He wants to make a crochet top for his girlfriend urgently. According to him, he should have placed the order since but he forgot and he needed to give it to her yesterday 😂.

So he asked how soon he could get it. The design he chose is something I can make in a day for her size. Since he wants 2 pieces. I promised to have it ready by Thursday which was fast enough for him and we concluded.

Fast forward to today, I had to go get the materials needed to make the outfit since I did not have the color of yarn he requested in stock. On getting to the store where I always buy yarns, I discovered that it was locked. I tried reaching the seller but she did not pick her calls.

At that point, I was already getting worked up. Purchasing yarn in my area is difficult, and she is the only vendor I knew. Eventually, I asked people around and they said she lost her husband about a week ago (sadly).

The next available option was to look for another alternative. I'm big on not going back on my word and I already promised Thursday 🥺. I went around the market searching for yarn. It all proved abortive.

I'm disappointed at this point and angry too. I do not want to go back on my word. So I am between a rock and a hard place.

I was down for a while but then I decided not to let this setback stop me from achieving what I hoped to achieve. So tomorrow I intend to try again.

Disappointments can come in various forms and shapes. It could come from family, friends, spouses and it can be painful too. We might not be in control of the events in our lives but we can respond to those events in a positive way.

When was the last time you encountered any disappointment and how did you react?

Thanks for stopping by❤️

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency