Amber!

Amber!

And just like that its Fall! For a lot of people around the world, you may not get all four seasons, but we do get them. In South Texas, if I say its 'fall' now, people will think I am crazy, because it is still too hot, but there has been a change. The worst of the heat is over. The 'fall session' in schools is on. Kids are back in school. A basic semblance of sanity have returned. With it routine, homework and travels. After almost 3 years, my fall travel schedule seems completely full. It seems strange that I will be traveling for business again! This time to the orient, and there are multiple trips. Same with my wife. This next 2 weeks are probably the only time we are both going to be together in town, until probably Christmas! Yeah! I know! But she loves it, and at this point I am looking forward to it as well. So with this long intro, I should get to the topic of the day. Yes, Amber Perfumes!

image.png

Source

Most people knows what Amber is, if you remember Jurassic Park. Do you remember the mosquito trapped in the transluscent orange rock (which supposedly sucked Dino blood!) Yeah, so Amber is nothing but fossilized tree sap or resin. It is widely used in perfumes, typically crushed and dissolved in certain oils. Amber typically gives the warm, spicey oriental smell to many perfumes, and are widely used in Fall and Winter fragrances.

image.png

Source: Arabian Oud Store in Houston Galleria

I was looking to buy something uncommon in the west (that will fit in the east) and learned that there is a new Arabian Oud store opened in Houston Galleria. I have never been there, so I told my wife that it could be a long Friday lunch date while kids are in school.

Kalemat

I wanted to try something unusual, something that is less common here. Mind you, Arabian Oud is extremely popular and quite common in the Middle East, just not that common in the west. I tried a variety of them but settled on Kalemat. It is an arabic word means 'word' :)

97BFDE44-C201-4C3E-9A87-3486A1CE0EA9.jpeg

CEAC4217-F554-442F-8AE4-91F1D620847C.jpeg

1962EBA3-2ADA-49E7-8465-DCD8B3B0D3C6.jpeg

84FBEFBE-73BD-483D-8E3F-A22EB819077F.jpeg

Typically the packaging of Arabian Oud perfumes are outstanding! Almost anything is as good as a gift set/box. This one is shaped like a book, and everything has that warm orange and earthy brown color.

Notes

Top notes are blueberry and anise, although I must tell you, that I don't really smell any blueberry. Middle notes are Kashmir Oud and rosemerry, both the very distinct. Afterall the house is called Arabian Oud for a reason! Oud notes always shine here. The base notes are Amber, honey and very slight musk. Its the honey and amber that stays for a very long time. If you have ever used any Arabian Fragrance, you should know that they don't mess around regarding projection and longevity! It is actually hard to get rid off. You will need a shower to get rid of this.

Overall, I am pleased. At $150 retail for a 100ml EDP spray, it is not partucularly cheap! However, nothing from Arabian Oud is cheap. I had long conversation with multiple ladies there at the shop who were patient and excellent sales persons. To me that is part of the experience as well, so I have no problem paying retail to these things. I have never used this particular one. Only one day (I just bought it today) is not enough to tell if I will really like it in the long run or not. But with incoming fall and winter season, this should be a good one to have, if you like Oud and Amber.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now