DIY Hobby - How to make your own Wet Pallet for Tabletop hobby painting!

Hello all! Recently I have been getting back into painting miniatures and my friend Ren brought his wet pallet to the hobby shop for me to use as he tutored me back into the swing of things.

I then determined that it would not be too difficult to make my own!

Hey there, I am Zak Ludick from Cape Town South Africa. I am a Warhammer and tabletop enthusiast but besides a small handful of well-painted miniatures, I have been pretty bad at getting around to painting my minis.

I own a lot of second-hand models that need to be repainted and have built and unbuilt brand-new models I need to paint. Perhaps by posting about them on Hive I will be more target driven to get painting!

But first I need a wet pallet. To be able to keep the paint from drying out and even pick it up on your next session is pretty cool!

You will need:

  • A container that can hold water - I got a plastic container.
  • An absorbent material. Foam would do but I got some felt sheets.
  • Baking paper

That's it!

Have a look at how easy this is!

These are the only things I needed to buy.

The container cost R7.50, approx $0.44!

The felt sheets cost R39.99, approx $2.30. I will only be using 2 out of 5 of these sheets so I will be able to make another should I ever need to, or I will use the material for something else.

Don't forget baking paper as your top layer!

Simply cut the felt into pieces that fit the container, I could get 2x layers per sheet.

Test fit during and after cutting!

I cut two pieces up, giving me 4 layers.

Finally, get a piece of baking paper to the same size. Wet the felt (or other absorbent material) and then place the baking paper on top.

DONE!

Testing in use!

So I started using the pallet to paint some zombies. Since these are civillians turned zombie I need to paint them all differently, but I can do 5 at a time with some sort of main color and decided to do the following:

And here you can see the blip of paint on the baking paper. I can now close up the lid of the container and go serve supper and come back to it later! Awesome!

Thank you for reading!

Cheers!
@zakludick

Hive South Africa

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
19 Comments
Ecency