DIY Building a frame to protect my tomato plants from the raging Cape Town winds! Great success!

Good day, DIY Club and all the Gardeners out there! It's me, Zak Ludick from Cape Town here again. I am still working in the docks at the moment so excuse me if this is going to be a little short!

I have big plans for my garden and basically, I sacrifice quite a bit of sleep so I can work in the garden and then go work my job which is currently for the next few weeks, still 12-hour grinds. I've been doing this now for around 5 weeks and I am getting used to a feeling of exhaustion that just sits in the background, like the sound of distant traffic.

Working in the garden gives me great joy and the sense of accomplishment outweighs the feeling of tiredness!

The winds were wrecking havoc on my tomato plants who now were carrying fruit and getting so bug that I needed to string them up along the fence!

This is how I did it!

First I made a quick frame. I sanded three planks with my grinder and then used 3 nails per side to make a right angled frame.

I noticed that my shade cloth has premade holes in it so I put nails into the wood about a centimeter deep all along the one side of the frame.

Here is a closeup.

I then put some some nails down the sides as well.

And there you have it. Once I put my shade cloth through this frame, I had to double it up some and I also had plenty left on the one side. I did not want to cut the shade cloth and the idea will be to build a much larger frame and cover more of the garden on hot or windy days!

So I just let the frame rest like this on the one side.

Inside the plants are doing better since they are no longer being buffeted to the ground.

And days later, the tomatoes are doing better than ever!

That's all from me for now!

Cheers!
@zakludick

Hive South Africa

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
13 Comments
Ecency