Papa and I Made and Customized a Condiment Rack for Mama <3



I took a day off today because I decided to do some general room cleaning. Because of my schedule and my hobbies, my room has been quite messy and dusty so I did something about it. Little did I know that my day off would be extra productive because mama's condiment bottles and containers arrived yesterday and she requested me and papa to make rack for her so she could organize them more.

She described how she wanted it to look and I drew the outline. Then, papa and I proceeded with the project. Basically, papa would be the one to build it and I'll be customizing it. Mama requested for it, so... here it is!!! ^^

image.png


It's the one at the center where she placed her condiment containers and bottles as well as our vitamins. lol Anyway, let me show you the process as to how papa and I created it. ^^

image.png

image.png

image.png


These were the materials papa used in creating the rack. He measured and cut some strips of wood which will be used for the sides of the rack. The second picture is a leftover plywood which we're going to use for the base.

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png



He connected the wood creating a rectangular shape for the rack. Then we decided on using three blocks for the back part and a slanting one on both sides. To support it, we attached two blocks vertically on each side at the back part. It's time to put them together. ^^

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png


Next, we need to attach the base. Mama also wanted it to have legs, so we used the extra wood from the slanting one. Let's check how it looked afterwards.

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png


And it's done! We now have the rack for my mama's condiment containers and bottles. However, as I've mentioned earlier, she wanted me to customize of paint anything on it. She gave me the freedom to choose the design, so let's get into it! To start, we need to prepare the materials. I also covered the dining table with manila paper because I know it would be quite messy.

image.png

image.png


I painted the base with white paint because it looks darker than the other parts. As for the design, I decided to do a mosaic-ish type of painting on each side. In addition, I wanted to create a half-day, half-night artwork, so I placed a division. I then started with the day side. :)

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png


For the day part, I used red, orange and yellow... of course, some colors in between like red-orange or yellow-orange. I used masking tape in creating the mosaic-ish style, however, I only have quite a thick one, so I had to cut it in half to create a thinner tape for this piece. Now, let's do the other side or the night side.

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png


Now that I finished both sides, I took out the center tape and worked on the art in the middle.

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png


I created a sunny sky and a night sky on each side. Then at the bottom, I painted a tree with contrasting colors. Mama was so happy with it and thought that it was cute. Papa thought so, too. It's actually not done yet. I had to dry the paint first before we do the final step!

image.png



Yep! It's varnish time. ^^ Papa and I really enjoyed creating this DIY condiment rack for mama. She's also very pleased and delighted with how it turned out. She said it was better than she imagined. lol Papa and I are really partners when it comes to creating something and I find it a very fun bonding activity. I wonder what our next project will be. haha Anyway, here's how it looks on our table now.

image.png


I know the designs I painted are not necessarily seen, but every time someone gets something from the rack they'd notice and become curious about it. haha They'd probably end up taking out everything to see the design. lol Anyway, the most important thing is that mama was happy with it... and papa and I are equally happy! <3


✧༺♥༻∞♥∞༺♥༻✧



@tegoshei.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments
Ecency