Big Jigsaws and Incoming Storms

so, back in May, I said update 3 on my shed should be a few weeks away.

then life happened.

A few weeks ago I managed to start the frame for the roof, but hadn't got hugely far. And now, we are moving into the stormy part of the year and my shed is still roofless.

Yesterday and today were due to be dry in the morning and so getting a bend on with the shed roof was my priority. Yesterday I finished the frame, today I began securing the roof material.

The roof is from an old garage and is fibre glass over OSB board. I've used the circular saw to cut it up into pieces which then get secured to the frame. As you can see, it's a bit of a jigsaw, and still not quite finished. That is a nuisance because we have another storm and lots of rain heading our way, so it's likely to be another week before I can do any more.

roof.jpg
When the gaps have been filled in then I'll set about sealing the surface. I had intended to use some form of roll-on flashing, but I think I may go for a paint-on sealant. I'll decide when I'm done. Then it'll be a case of corralling some friends to help lever the monster atop the structure below.

Shed .jpg

From their, I have artifical slate tiles to go on the front and door sides, while the rear sides have already had felt put over them. WIth the roof on I can get the door fixed on and then let it dry for a few weeks before putting in the insulation.

THe overall cost is still very low due to having used material I had or were able to obtain at little or no expence. When the roof goes on I'll start looking for people getting rid of plywood sheets, and packs of flooring.

Surely I can have it useable by the end of the year, right?

text and pictures by stuartcturnbull

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency