Keeping cultural heritage alive

Hello everyone, welcome to the DIY community. Today I will be making a traditional hand fan for the DIY contest, a
step-by-step guide to creating a Traditional Hand fan.

I love everything about my tradition because we always have our way of doing things. This traditional hand fan has been in existence for a long time. This hand fan was used by our forefathers, and it is still invoked to this day.

That is to say, traditions are not something we can forget so easily because everyone has their origin, and where they come from. Let's get to work and see what the traditional hand fan looks like.

Materials are:

Ankara fabric

Gum

Plank

Carton

Paint

Painting Brush

Scissors

Toothbrush

Needle and thread

Procedure

I made use of scissors to cut a rectangular shape from the Ankara fabric.

I also cut a rectangular shape from the carton as well.

I tore the carton into two because it didn't reach the length I wanted, so I applied gum to the edges and placed them on one another.

Now that I have the length that I wanted, it is time to couple everything together and see the outcome.

I made use of the toothbrush to apply gum to one side of the carton.

Then I placed it on the Ankara fabric. There was excess, so I applied gum to the tip of the carton and placed the excess on it.

After that, I applied gum to the rest of the carton, then folded the Ankara fabric on the carton to cover it up.

There was excess again, so I made use of scissors to cut it off since there was no place to gum it.

The next thing I did was apply gum to the edges of the Ankara fabric and the carton, then place the plank on the gum and fold it up.

The same process was applied to the other side of the Ankara fabric, then I held it down for some minutes to dry up.

Now it's time for folding. I started folding the Ankara fabric and the carton from one edge to the other.

After folding it, I made use of tiny fabrics to tie it down, then I made use of needle and thread to sew the head to prevent it from unfolding.

Now it's time for painting, I dipped the painting brush into the paint, then placed it on the plank until there was no plank showing again. I put it under the sun to get dry for some minutes.

This is the outcome of the simple materials that make a traditional hand fan.

Now I can use it, and it can be used anywhere as long as I have it with me.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
8 Comments
Ecency