Upcycled Shelves FTW

Hello again DIYers! I'm back with another upcycling project. I still had more of that packing foam that I've been making into magnets, and I was inspired to make shelves with it!

So I had this box shape of foam, and I covered it with cardboard (I used Elmer's glue and Scotch tape to attach the cardboard). Then I started covering all of it with masking tape.

After that was done, I painted the entire thing:

I made a second shelf with the balsa wood cutouts left from when I made the Faeries a trebuchet months ago, more cardboard, some of the last piece of foam, and yogurt tub lids. Told ya this was upcycled!

Then I repeated covering it with making tape, until I ran out of tape (but close enough, I got most of it covered). And again I painted it:

Then I tried hanging up the box using Command strips (didn't want to drill into the cabinets). I ended up gluing some leftover plastic corners to the bottom of the box to add a little more security (but did not actually attach them to the cabinet side; it's just kind of leaning there to take a little bit of the weight).

Then I moved on to making a railing for the flat shelf out of 45 record inserts! Gen X represent!

(If you are too young to remember record players, 45s were the smaller records that were singles - one song on each side - and the hole in the middle was wider than on a full size album record, so you put these little inserts in the 45 to fit it on a turntable that didn't adjust for the wider hole)

Then I mounted that next to the box shelf, also with the other two of the plastic corners for support (I think those were protection in the packing of some assemble-it furniture years ago? But it's been so long I'm not sure).

Then I filled them with aquarium stuff, which was their purpose. 😄

So there was my upcycling project! A lot of materials saved from landfill, and cool new shelves to organize my aquarium supplies. I'm happy with how they turned out. 😃

Thank you for reading and have a great day!!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
28 Comments
Ecency