Back at Home, Almost Done

We moved back into our house last weekend. Things weren't done yet and still aren't, but we've been getting more done this way since we don't have to get there late and quit early to get back to my parents for bed. I started back in my old department too, which is a big relief. While I'm now back on second shift (4:30pm-1am... yuck!), the work is massively easier. It's not being super bad on my sleep this time. Once the house is done, everything will be grand!

8f1864abfc3fb8b224cb754174baa28dlm7xdw480_h360_q80.jpg
Picture of our kitchen, pulled straight from the old listing.

Saturday we installed lights in the kitchen. By we I mean my friend from the men's group/community, and me. Still working up a post on that. He is an electrician, and got us an awesome deal on new can lights that really update the kitchen and make it a cool space for the house. Melissa picked out some nice matching hanging lights for that area too; a flush mount in the entry way, and two different chandeliers for the kitchen and dining space. I installed a dimmer switch in the dining and kitchen lights that really adds to the coolness.

IMG_20201121_215000629.jpg
Updated as of Saturday night, I'm not showing the newer ones yet. Nannernannerbooboo

Sunday we went to my parents and got the last of our stuff from their house. Some clothes, some homeschooling stuff, my rifle and axes, and my dad's miter saw that I'll use on the baseboards starting tomorrow. Melissa is starting homeschool back up next week. We expect to have the house completed in the next day or two, then Thanksgiving with family, then we're settling back to normalcy.

I still have to change the p trap on the tub in the master bath. I found a small leak there the other day and tried the magical miracle fix called flex seal and it didn't work for shit. I found out today that it didn't work, but I was already in subfloor mode to try and beat the contractors doing the flooring, so I'll have to change that pipe from the bottom. All good though, it's easy to get to and an easy enough fix. I've changed out a few of those over the years.

Just a quick little house update for now. There'll be more with lots of pics when we're done!

Love from Texas

Nateđź’š

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments
Ecency