Serigraphy printing or my failing attempt of trying for the sake of it

Serigraphy. Another absolutely beautiful creative work process.

You place the screen on the fabric.

Pour the paint onto it.

And while you drag the paint over the screen, you could barely hold back the excitement, just a few moments from discovering what you just printed on the fabric.

You lift up the screen and discover perfectly clean lines.

A thin layer of paint.

A subject created by you, looking as if it had always been there.

Pure and perfect.

The lines and shapes. The colour.

Meanwhile I am amazed by the process, I am unable to just try out. Have fun without an idea. Just freely try out. It bores me. Taking photos of the process didn't bore me though:)

First, I choose brown.

Little deviation about the colour brown.

I treat colours I don’t like the same as foods I don’t enjoy eating. Strangely I am having fun trying them as long as it takes me to sort of appreciate them.

Example?

Dried tomatoes. I used to hate dried tomatoes. Until we went on a school excursion to Italy in my high school years. My Italian teacher stole a handful of dried tomatoes from a stall of a marked (was his hometown, I imagine he used to play games in the same market as a kid). He proposed them to us. I wasn’t going to refuse dried tomatoes stolen by my Italian teacher, how could I?
Since then, I love dried tomatoes. Would mix them into pretty much any savory dish.

Same story with purple. After using it as paint or in clothing over and over again, I still don’t quite like it too much. But I do not hate purple anymore.
And even wear it for fun sometimes.

The next round goes to the colour brown.

Whenever I encounter paint (in tubes or jars even pens), there is eighter no brown and you have to mix it yourself, and I never remember how. But if there is, it is usually very bland and boring. Maybe that’s why I have problems with it. I forget how many options there are from caramel to pastel brown or autumn leave gold orange…

That’s why I was trying serigraphy printing with brown.

First it went oke. Just some random lines.

I discovered gold and was distracted.

How cheap is this to still get so distracted by this shiny colour?
Just has to be shiny and I am off with it.

I guess that is the effect "having too many choices" does to me.

I realized that gold looks better as paint and not on the fabric, obviously.

Stripes?

Further I thought it would be fun to use some tape, to spare parts of the fabric from the paint.

Eventually I got very frustrated and uninspired.

Maybe it is also oke not to be in the mood to just try out things without a plan. Maybe it is also just a thing I am not very good at. Yes, I want everything to be perfect at the first round. Meanwhile I am willing to fix about anything on a project gone wrong, if I am really into it.
Probably the trying-for-the-sake-of-it project is just not what I am really into.
Or at least not, if I don’t see the big picture at its end.

But then I pulled off the tape.

And there my inspiration came back. When I was looking at the tape, the rubbish I saw more beauty than in the result of a few hours of printing.

Again, I went back to my theme.

Recycling, upcycling, rubbish.

Rubbish is beautiful.

Thank you all for your visit, appreciate it:) Have a lovely weekend!!

(All photos are mine taken by me)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
24 Comments
Ecency