DIY ~ 1997 Ford F-350 ABS Hydraulic Unit Replacement


It seems like these repairs have been happening quite frequently as of late. 🤔 The ol’ 1997 F350 has been on and off the road for 23 years! Things wear out and things break, especially since this truck has been driven by a Lineman since day one.

Well this time around I had an ABS light show up on my dash and it stopped my cruise control from working. Road trips with no cruise control are a pain in the foot. Trust me I just did it. Now the Anti-lock Braking system on these older trucks don’t perform at all like the new systems. This is strictly for the rear wheels and honestly I don’t know if it ever worked.... it’s that crappy. So besides the light on the dash and no cruise control I probably wouldn’t notice it and probably wouldn’t fix it.

Anyway this repair was suppose to be an easy swap out but me being me I had to add an extra layer of difficulty to the job. Kinked a brake line and twisted it all up. Perfect just perfect!! Those fittings just didn’t want to come off at all!! Oh well I guess this led to an addition to the video, “How to use a tubing flare tool”. I knew there was a silver lining in there someplace.

Just a 13 mm socket, 7/16, 1/2, 5/8, and 3/4 open/box end wrenches are needed.... if you don’t mess things up like I did. The reason so many wrenches are needed is because of the brake line fittings. It will help prevent messing up the tubing.... trust me... If all goes well this should take around an hour or so to complete unless you are me.

I hope you enjoyed another DIY/How To video from your DIY guy himself.

Until Next Time...

Hive On

Join us in the Mancave!


▶️ 3Speak

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency