Solar Light for my Garden

Today I am sharing a DIY work with you which I did for my garden. We bought two solar lights for our garden a few months ago. These were very bright and had a big built-in battery. But the issue was that it could only be turned on with a remote control and not automatically at night. And the range of the remote control was very short. You have to be very close to the light for the remote to work. Which was not very practical especially here in the UK where weather is mostly rainy. I wanted the light to turn on automatically when it is dark.

So I had to figure out how to make it turn on automatically at night otherwise this light was very much useless for us. I disassembled the light and found an electric circuit which makes it turn on only through its remote control. I do not know much about electric circuits so it was not an easy task for me to make it turn on automatically at night. After looking at the light circuit, I eventually figured out the wires that directly connect to the rows of LEDs which can be connected to the solar powered cells directly to turn on the light at night. You can see in the picture I took below in which I cut the wires which are soldered to the electric circuit and now have to join these wires to new locations. I scratched the surface of the locations where the wires would be connected to expose the copper circuit wires which you can also see in the picture below.

I did not have a soldering iron so I bought it from Amazon. I liked the packing of the soldering iron which is compact and handy.

Soldering iron along with its accessories can be kept organised in the zip lock bag that comes with it. It just looks like a diary.

The solar cell is quite large and the battery capacity is also good which is attached to the solar panel. Have a look at the solar panel.

After joining the wires at new locations I assembled the solar light and checked if it is working as expected. It was turning on automatically at dark, exactly as I wanted.

Then I fixed it to the side of my green house. I clicked this picture in the morning.

And when the night came, it lit up automatically at night! The pathway became so bright in the garden, exactly as I wanted. I am very happy with the result.

And this is a closeup view of the light.

I did the same for another solar light. I had a spare lamp post in which I fixed this light and it fitted nicely.

This is the image in the dark after it lit up.

image.png

Let me know in the comments if my post inspired you to do your own DIY improvement in your garden.

And that is all about today's post. I hope you like it. See you soon insha Allah.

Have a nice day.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
8 Comments
Ecency