Making of a white midi dress

Hello everyone, welcome to my blog, I hope this post meets you well, it is always exciting to share my DIY project in this wonderful community filled with creative minds, as usual, I will be sharing with us my sewing project, which I recently made, it is a beautiful dress with statement puffy sleeves, its a simple, classy, and elegant dress, that can be worn to church, dinner date or a wedding or other kind of party or celebration, mostly referred to as owambe in my country Nigeria.

inage is mine, edited using canva


Without further ado, allow me take you through the sewing process.


Materials/Tools used

  • lace fabric
  • satin fabric
  • wh,ite lining
  • white thread
  • white zipper
  • Scissors, tape rule and my sewing machine.

PROCESS

  • I started by drafting the patterns, for the upper side of the front and back making use of a princess bustier pattern, using the lace fabric and satin as it's base, I joined the piece together, then turned it with the lining fabric.

front

back

Bustier patterns gives the bust area a well contoured look.

bust area

  • I also drafted the down part of the gown, using a straight skirt pattern, also using the lace fabric and the satin as base.

front

back

  • I joined the upper side of the front to the down part, and also did same to the bpiecesI attached the zipper to the back to join the two back piece together.

  • Next, I joined the front and back together

  • Now, making my sleeve pattern, which is an exaggerated sleeve with band

  • Here, I am gathering the upper and lower part of the sleeves to make it look puffy, then I attached it to the knotable band.

  • Finally, my dress is ready. BeautifulšŸ„° isn't it?

Please note, all images used in this post are mine.

Thank you for visiting my blogā¤ā¤.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
26 Comments
Ecency