This content was deleted by the author. You can see it from Blockchain History logs.

DIY Weekend - A stitch in time saves nine

DIY Weekend

A STITCH IN TIME SAVES NINE


Greetings, and happy Monday! Hope you all had a good weekend. Mine was busy busy busy.

I didn't even get the chance to look at Hive at all, let alone post, over the weekend. I had a lot to do. The most significant bit was probably the DIY job I had to do. Both my kitchen taps and bathroom faucets developed leaks at the same time! I'd been putting fixing them off for a while but the leaks were getting worse. I've had a pretty bad leak in the past and they do get really expensive to resolve if you don't fix them in time. You may have to deal with secondary problems, such as mould, if leaks are left unresolved. "A stitch in time saves nine" as the saying goes.

I ordered new fittings a couple of weeks ago but I had been to busy to embark on the job. I actually attempted earlier but I didn't have all the tools I needed. Well I did, but one of the bolts got rounded off so I couldn't undo one of the ceramic valves in the bathroom. I had to abort the job till I got the proper type of spanner (a deep offset one). I also had to get a set of bolt extractors to remove the rounded off bolt.

Plumbing issues are some of the most hated. While some minor jobs may be easy to do, if you know what you're doing and have the tools, they can easily spiral out of control and become major issues. When the bigger issues happen, they're often urgent and expensive, difficult to fix. To add to it all, good plumbers are hard to find here - ones that actually know their job AND won't try to rip you off. It's a necessary evil.

I also fixed a worn out light switch which involved turning off all the electricity in the house at night. Thankfully I had my video LED lights fully charged since the work took longer than I expected. That's a post for another day.

Peace & Love,

Adé