Shell Charm 022

I’ve always enjoyed collecting small shell fragments with beautiful characteristics; it ties in well with all my love of paying attention to the small details around us.


SOURCE

Keeping these small fragments with me let’s me take the ocean on my journey, no matter where I end up - plus I’ve got a lot of small shell fragments, so I had to find something to do with them.

Unfortunately, I ended up not giving each one a cool name - in the end I decided just to number them as I make them. Today we’re looking at the shell charm known as 022.

This one is not just a unique natural formation, it’s also unique in the way it was put together; no drilling, no natural holes, no grooves edges to turn a wrap around, no concave shape to guarantee the shell wont slip out of the wire. I debated using a dab of superglue to make sure they stay together, but decided against it. If it breaks, it was meant to do so…but so far it’s proven to be really solid and, at this point I don’t think it’s likely to come apart.

Also, I like using less solder when I can, allowing the wire to show its original copper tones fading in and out of silver as it twists around the shell, and this one was a great piece to showcase these transitions.

The wire was double-wrapped around the shell and soldered to hold a V shape. The shell fragment floats in the wire wrap, but has no wiggle.

I liked this piece because of the intricate layers and geometrically textured surface.



Thanks for checking out some more of my work! As always, I hope you enjoyed witnessing as much as I enjoyed creating!

© Photos and words by @albuslucimus, except where otherwise indicated.


img_4821.png


If you enjoy my content, check out the Albus Index!

Here you’ll find links to various post-groupings, so you can find all posts related to a specific topic quickly. Topics include lists of brewing recipes, flutes, crypto talks, rucking posts and an index of all acoustic covers. The lists are updated as new content is added, so they can always be used to quickly navigate my content.



img_1319

SRC

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment
Ecency