So, what's your backstory?

Ok so, hi, I'm Sapadetzero. I recently joined Hive and this community and wanted to share a bit about myself and the system I'm currently using. I got into tabletop role playing sometime in my early teens, I don't quite remember when. I think the system was Alternity. Since then I've been playing with any group that would have me. Dungeons & Dragons, d20 Modern, Burning Wheel, GURPS, the system didn't matter. I just wanted to play and have fun. 20ish years later, I'm still having fun.

So I was playing a D&D 5th edition game with family and friends and I could tell the DM was getting close to burning out. So I wanted to give them a break so they could play, because no one wants to be the "Forever DM". Then life happened and they had leave the group. So I've been the game master of my group for about 2 years now. I'm glad that I've managed keep the group together and playing (almost) every week. If you want the full story check it out. And so I say...

For the most part we play the Star Wars RPG from Fantasy Flight Games. We are currently using the Edge of the Empire ruleset for all that scum, villainy, and guns for hire fun. It does use this wonky Narrative Dice System that I really enjoy.

Example of Narrative Dice

The dice help telling the story with not just Successes and Failures, but Advantages, Threats, Triumphs and Despairs. The extra nuisance allow by the allows for some strange dice interacts with the players and the story at large. In the picture above that result is consider a success even with the Despair, which is like a critical failure.

The real fun is getting everybody at the table to describe how you succeed, and what benefits you get and despite all that how a cripplingly bad thing happens. Something like,

"Sure you outrun the Stormtroopers, and lose them in the winding streets of the city causing multiple pursuit speeders to crash into one another. However, as you arrive at you destination it runs out of fuel from pushing it so hard. Its not going anywhere now."

It allows for the dice to assist in the storytelling and helps the player engage with the narrative process. And since I know that not everybody likes Star Wars or Sci-Fi or both, there is a generic rules set for the Narrative Dice System called Genesys.

The Genesys Core Rulebook has multiple different settings for it including the Realms of Terrinoth, which the Runebound and Decent: Journeys in the Dark board games universe, Secrets of the Crucible which is set in the KeyForge universe, and Android: Shadow of the Beanstalk set in the Android universe. However since its a generic system, you can do what you want. Sure the dice are wonky and take a bit to get used to, but the payoff is worth it.

So yeah, I thought I would share a bit about me and the system that enjoy. Most of the stuff I post are stories that happens at the table. Glad to be part of the community. I only have one thing to ask.

So, what's your backstory?

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency