It's Been a Wonderful First Year in Hive: Happy Cake Day To Me! (Part 2 of 2)

For Hive Anniversary.gif


Hello, Hive! Welcome once again to my Cake Day Post. This is now Part 2 and in case you missed the first part, you can read it through here. In the first part, I talk about the time I published my Introduction Post and the time I made my Hive Vision and Goals. I am thankful to everyone who took the time to greet me on my first Anniversary in Hive.

In this post, I will be sharing with you the time when I realized that everything was content, the time when HIVE was $1, and the time when I became a curator.

As I've mentioned in the first part, these are the things I'm sharing because they made my first year in Hive wonderful. I joined Hive on August 6, 2020, and published my Intro Post on August 25, 2020.


Heading 3.gif

That time I realized everything was content

Writing a post used to be so difficult for me. I would squeeze my brain into deciding what my next content would be. The process of writing a post seemed so laborious because I wanted to know right away what I was going to write and how I was going to write it. On top of that, I was still (re)learning about Markdown and HTML.

I took to writing prompts to help me with writing my next posts. I remember sitting down and seeing the Hive Gaming Community Contest entitled, My Best Video Game Memories. I grabbed the idea right away and followed the content instructions. I was able to submit my post right before the deadline. It felt good to be able to join my first Hive Contest. I joined my first Power Up Day and I was also able to write posts about it. I continued writing travel blogs but I knew I wanted to write more and something else.

I looked inwards as I produced more content and it somehow clicked, I realized that there was so much in my life that I could write about. That was when I started my Book Review Series. It started with a meticulous distillation of my learning from reading Jim Kwik's Limitless. I titled that three-part post, My Best Takeaways from Jim Kwik's LIMITLESS. I have a goal to read 24 books this year and I decided I would write a book review for each of them. So far, I've written 3 and there's so much more to come. Here are my book reviews:


image.png

Sticking to Your Goals: The 4 Disciplines of Execution (Book Review)


Enrich Your Faith: The Shack (Book Review)


How to Find Meaning in Suffering: Practical Tips Inspired by Viktor Frankl's Man's Search for Meaning


You know another perfect place to look for content? Your gallery! I thank my younger self for taking so many pictures during my travels and the food I had during almost every mealtime. If you've been following me, you know that I have a Food Memories Series where I showcase the food that I had in the past and the memories associated with them. You can check them out through the links below:

Food Memories #1
Food Memories #2
Food Memories #3
Food Memories #4
Food Memories #5
Food Memories #6

Some of the posts that are very close to my heart are my Self Improvement articles. I was so happy when I discovered the Self Improvement Community because I really want to share my knowledge on how to improve yourself in terms of emotional well being and disposition. Ultimately, I want to write about Personal Development because it's more concrete and results-oriented than the more general Self Improvement. I have created a Community on Personal Development and I will be launching it very soon! Here are some of my Self Improvement/Personal Development Posts:




I now have a list of the posts that I want to write here in Hive. And it is a long list! I dream of a time when I could just spend my whole day writing here in Hive. I still have a day job and I take what is left of my time to slowly write the things that are on my list.

Heading 4.gif

That time HIVE was $1

March 28, 2021, the price of HIVE pumped to $1.05. I was taking a shower when my friend sent me a message about it. I did not really grasp what that meant at the time but looking back, it was huge! By the time I read the message, the price had gone down to about 8 cents but it was enough for me to withdraw around $180 for just 3 travel posts! It was exhilarating! I did not expect to receive big monetary rewards for my personal writing. I was just happy to find a platform where I can write anything I want.

My friend @ybanezkim26 and I would joke about that bullish period as the time of extravagant lifestyle. We bought new pairs of shoes with our hard-earned money. We frequented coffee shops creating and writing content. We went on a staycation and traveled quite a lot. Because by this time, I had learned that, again, everything is content. And that HIVE could go back to $1 anytime.


image.png


image.png

image.png


image.png


I am now trading cryptocurrency from the HIVE that I'm earning. It's different when a coin means something to you. You know its potential and what that means for you. This motivates me to hold on to my coin and stay longer in the blockchain despite the ups and downs. I'm trading my HIVE but I haven't withdrawn since that big pump. I will also be doing my regular Power Up's. Who knows? HIVE could go to the predicted $3-$5 price. What a time would that be!


Heading 5.gif

That time I became a curator

Before I share about the time I became a curator, let me share first the importance of community in Hive. Hive isn't all about writing and earning cryptocurrency. If you really want to make the most of your experience on the blockchain, you need to immerse yourself in the community. By community, I don't just mean the different Communities on the platform but also taking the conscious effort to genuinely connect with the other authors. Hive is a social media platform by design. You are supposed to socialize! I think a lot of users get into the trap of doing post-and-run. It's when you go into the platform to just post and ignore the comments on your posts or when you never read other people's posts.

People take the time to read what you've written and they also expend their energy when they write an organic comment on your post. You socialize by replying to the comments and reading other people's work. I strongly believe that aside from growing your HP and follower list, the best way to grow your account is to connect with more users on the blockchain. It can be awkward at first to comment on strangers' posts. If you personally know someone who is on the platform, start with their posts and slowly reach out to others.

I am so glad to have a local Hive community here in Cebu, Philippines. It is so much easier to connect with people on the blockchain whom you know in real life. We had our first Hive Virtual Meetup on April 24 this year (2021) and it was fun seeing the faces of people you mostly interact with online. Some of the members of our local community were my friends but others were new to me. I just met them through Hive. And on June 17, we did a face-to-face meetup and everyone was so happy seeing each other in person, some for the first time. I was glad to be able to make new friends despite being in a 'socially distanced' time.



Now we move on to the time when I became a curator. The best way for you to become a curator is for people to notice and know you, in a good way, of course. I am so fortunate that someone from our local community is a curator from OCD and where else would he look for possible candidates for open positions than from the authors whom he knows? Curator positions can also be offered to anyone who might be interested. I once saw a post in the Hive Book Club Community where they were looking for curators. I wanted to apply but I thought that maybe a lot of authors had submitted their applications already.

I am currently curating for POSH, Other Niche Communities, and 3Speak for OCD. Although I am still learning (I make mistakes once in a while), I know that engagement is one of the criteria of a curator. We can and we will skip your post if we see that you haven't been engaging enough. It can be a red flag that an account/content might not be genuine. There are, of course, other several important criteria that we refer to which guide us whether to nominate your post for an upvote or not.

I enjoy curating because it allows me to discover great authors and content creators in Hive. I've read so many stories and seen different interests translated into good-quality posts. I'm also making new friends here in Hive because of it. And the communities! I didn't know there were other great communities aside from the popular ones I've subscribed to.


Heading 6.gif

And now it's been a year

And now it's been a year. One of my few regrets about Hive is not joining earlier! But we can't turn back time. We can only learn from the past, make the most of our present, and prepare for the future. The past year has been so challenging and rewarding at the same time. I've also turned 28 this month and I am grateful that I've been given another year to continue living. I would like to thank my loved ones, friends, and family who've been with me through the good and bad times. Of course, I thank God for the graces I've undeservingly received.


And that's it! August has always been a month of celebration for me and it's so fitting that I joined Hive in the same month. Thank you for reaching this part and reading my post. Remember: everything is content, Hive can go back to $1, and curators value engagement.

I hope you all have a wonderful day ahead of you (today or tomorrow). See you in the next post. Cheers!


20210619_141406 (2).jpg

Glebert

He’s a dreamer and a thinker. He tends to sensationalize a lot of things. He got that from his mother. He’s also a bit melodramatic. Must be from his father. Bear with him as he shares his thoughts and experiences about his travels, dreams, and the variety of things he’s trying to learn and improve (personal development, writing, cryptocurrency, fitness, etc.). If you like this article please give it an upvote and if for some reason you’re interested in more future content, please don’t hesitate to follow.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
20 Comments
Ecency