"whale" you help me understand? 😏

So first off, I am being chill - so I'm asking everyone who comments here - to just also ... be chill. Settle into a little zen. lol

No need for huge debates and big explosions.

I'm just a little dolphin, who likes to help. lol I've been around since 2016. I've seen things that honestly piss me off, and I've had some reactions that I'm not proud of.

But I like to think that I've learned a few things, since 2016. Grown some. I hope that I add to the good vibes on Hive. I try to have answers for those who come knocking. But this one? I'm at a loss, and I sure could use some help explaining what to do.



I don't usually tag whales, cuz I think they have better things to do than run around answering every request on the blockchain, but I've had some pretty decent conversations that were very respectful with a few - and so, I'd like to tag the two whales that are involved as I understand it - @themarkymark and @xeldal - and then, if for some reason, they can't comment - I've also had pretty cool (brief) respectful "whale interactions" with @acidyo and @azircon. I do not know the vibes between all of you - so, pardon if I just stirred up a little animosity, but if it's there? I sure would love if you could temporarily set it aside to give some guidance and simply assist me in letting people know your opinion on what to do in this situation.

NOTE: In case anyone doesn't know - I've been pretty public about trying to teach newbies that NO ONE owes you anything on Hive, and that that upvote does not actually "belong" to you until it has been claimed and is in your wallet. Up until the point of post payout - anything can and will happen with the value of the post as people weigh in on their evaluation of it. Right, wrong, or indiffferent - THAT is the way this blockchain is set up. It doesn't matter if you like it or not. By writing here - you subject yourself to the system.

So you can trust and be assured that THAT is my stance, and that is what I share to anyone who asks.



Having said that, there have been some sad situations where people (especially newbies) have found themselves unknowingly swept into a whale war.

That is the situation that I'm presenting here. That is what I need help understanding, so I can guide one particular smaller account (who happens to be a pretty amazing writer) as to how she should proceed. Her name is @deraaa, and as far as she knows... she hasn't transgressed any of the "NO-NOs of HIVE"


For the newbies among us, my definition of a whale war:

Two whales disagree on how their vote is being used. One feels that it is abusing the platform and giving an unfair preference to material that is undeserving. One feels the other should mind his/her own business. They war with words. When words fail, they war with votes. Usually, the one whale will upvote as he/she sees fit. The other whale will downvote with equal measure.
If whale A upvotes $5 vote power, whale B will usually downvote with $5 vote power.



But in this situation, @deraaa has seen that on her posts, not only is whale B (in this case, @themarkymark) downvoting to reverse the upvote of whale A (in this case, @xeldal) - but whale B is negating the entire value of the post.

This is usually indicative of some major transgression such as plagiarism, identity theft, flagrant scam/spam, and now even recently - some whales who are against any form of AI - even images. @deraaa has said she hasn't committed any of this - and is confused.


She's asked me:

  1. should I just try to contact xeldal, and ask him to stop upvoting me - so I can keep SOME rewards for my writing?

  2. should I just stay quiet and deal with it? (for fear of further retribution, as most smaller accounts are scared to do anything that might paint a bigger target on their back)

and then of course, other questions in my head are... should she just stop writing for a while, until things calm down? (CAN she do that? or does she depend on HIVE for financial assistance?) Should she attempt to reach out on her own and understand why the downvote goes beyond the initial upvote? Is there some other hidden thing happening that she's being punished for?



Normally I'd say - "Just leave it. Let the whales war, and it will eventually stop." The only people who get hurt in whale wars, are the little people, so just take a deep breath, realize its your turn 😥 , and set your mind on, "This too shall pass." Feels very self-defeating and discouraging - I know, but this is the situation we often find ourselves in on Hive. If you want to be on Hive, you're GOING to - at some point - be the recipient of the collateral damage of a whale war. Either you have the bones for it and stay - or you leave. Again - very sad, but true.


But in this case, I think you can see that it's not that simple, because she's even having the curation from communities and other hive members removed. If it's a case of any of any major transgression?? (plagiarism and such) - she deserves it. Plain and simple. If that's the case, please move on, and sorry to have wasted your time. (but please do feel free to state the problem, I think it helps us all.)

But, if not? I'm POSITIVE that I will need to be giving this SAME advice in a few weeks to another small account that comes asking for help, quietly.


My advice to each of them will be dependent on what I hear back from everyone here. My specific advice for @deraaa - well, Marky or Xeldal can speak directly to her! Feel free to use this as that space - or contact her directly.

Downvotes are part of our system, and are valuable when used correctly. I happen to think they are a valuable method of the community correcting bad behavior. However, if anyone wants to somehow try to intimidate me into not speaking my mind by throwing a few "bully" downvotes on this post - or even following me with a downvote in the future, feel perfectly free. I'm neither afraid nor intimidated by downvotes. Never have been, never will be. All that I make here, I find ways to help others. Do as you will... lol


Please remember..

We all know that EVERYONE has the ability to incite more negativity - and that MOST of us here are pretty skilled with our snark... but is it really necessary?

When you comment, there is no need for explosions, snide remarks, ego, rants, or hitting below the belt. etc. If you come here to add to the mix- peace is always cool. Just leave your comment, intend to help, and all will be well ❤️ If you're gonna stir stuff up - I'll just upvote other comments above yours, so that yours fades into obscurity. No ill will intended. Just not gonna give negativity a spotlight in my space.

Thanks!!!

(I'll respond to comments later, but let people chat without my interruption for a bit - unless I'm tagged specifically)

whale by phtorxp, edited by me

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
217 Comments
Ecency