Sleep, the most underrated human activity

source

Hello and welcome to my blog, I'm glad to be able to participate in this community's new contest also thanks to @anttn for bringing up this amazing prompt: Sleep

When I was younger, I didn't enjoy the notion of sleeping or napping, especially in the afternoon. However, I recall my mother constantly making my sisters and I take naps or rests as she as she always refers to it, when we got home from school, with her watchful eye and instructions, we ultimately fell asleep nearly quickly, It's probably the body's way of demonstrating how much we needed to rest at the time but our excessively energetic bodies as children refused to.

Having a demanding job or engaging in other stressful and time consuming activities makes it difficult for me to get enough sleep as an adult. I often sleep 5 to 6 hours on the average daily as opposed to the 7 and 9 hours per night that are advised for adults.

!image is mine

Does it affect me?

Yes, it does. During the holiday season, my sleep time shrunk even more as a result of my heavy workload as a fashion designer trying to fulfill orders. I worked most of the night and slept very little or not at all the following day. I also developed emotional instability in that I get easily irritated or angry at trivial things, even though I rarely get angry over major things, there was one occasion when I lost my temper with my parent over a relatively insignificant matter. I had just finished my overnight routine and was in desperate need of sleep, but I had become too accustomed to taking my sleep for granted. My realization that I had overdone taking sleep for granted came after that outburst. I now make every effort to space out my workdays so that they don't interfere with my sleep.

It's usually easier for me to fall asleep, especially after a long day, but on the rare occasions when it may be challenging, I have a technique that helps. I don't recall where I learned it, but it does work for me; perhaps this is what meditation entails. I close my eyes and visualize a peaceful place; it could be a lovely garden, the sky with clouds, or by the beach; it always helps me.Blinking quickly also helps me fall asleep since it makes my eyes heavy and compels them to do so. It seems odd, but it works for me.

Sleeping shouldn't be underestimated because it has so many advantages. When I'm well rested, I think more clearly and am more able to handle life's challenges. In other words, sleep gives us the energy we need to face the world until the next time it's required.

I will outline a few positive health effects of getting enough sleep based on my little study.

  1. Sleeping helps us maintain a healthy weight.

  2. Reduces depression

  3. It improves the body's immune system

  4. It reduces inflammation in the body

  5. It enhances memory performance in both adult and children

  6. It strengthens the heart

We should now understand how critical sleep is to us as humans, just as vital as eating a healthy diet, and that we should make an effort to sleep healthily as well. These are only a few of the many factors I've described, as there are many more.

Thank you for reading ♥️♥️

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
12 Comments
Ecency