Howling at the moon

Source: www.animalrescueprofessionals.org/

This post is an entry for the #UnityTowardFreedom challenge, prompted by @anttn.
I have participated in the community before, but this will be my first challenge entry.



This is where I spend a large portion of my time on earth

It might not look like much but I have been investigating deeply about the effect of bed orientation over the quality of our sleep.
It started when I took a Bio Apiculture workshop and learned about Ley Lines and Telluric Energy and their effect on bees and the recommended positioning of their hives.
as soon as I got home, I made myself a pair of Dowsing rods and started exploring the farm.
one thing led to another and I started thinking about how ley lines affected trees and than me.
I went deep, as I do, and learned many interesting truths.
according to the ancient art of Feng Shui, even the direction where our heads are pointed while we sleep is important.
if I remember correctly, the most recommended is west. but since I am in a caravan, my bed is fixed to it and I could only face North or South.
I used to, for a long time, sleep facing North, but than changed to South and have been sleeping in this position ever since. I did feel a difference over time, yes !

I enjoy two types of sleep that depend on the type of tiredness involved.

normally, I am physically tired from day to day work on the farm. building, pruning, walking, digging etc.
this kind of tiredness produces a better quality sleep.
not only I fall asleep immediately, but my sleep is normally un interrupted and regenerating.

sometimes though, my tiredness is rather mental.
this happens when my days are more office like days.
dealing with the bank, communications, orders etc. where more time is spent in front of the screen while being highly concentrated in thought.
I remember such a time when we first came to Portugal.
we already bought the land and there was everything to do on it.
I would fall asleep immediately as always, fairly early (it was dead of winter and dark by 4 O´clock..)
and I would than wake up at about 2 in the morning, having slept for about 6 hours already, and would start thinking.. tossing and turning in bed for hours on end prioritizing, budgeting, problem solving, etc. I would than eventually fall asleep again , exhausted for another hour or so just before the sun came out.
this went on for many months until I finally moved to live on the land. the land cured me.

which ever kind of sleep it may be, If I am awaken during the night for which ever reason (my neighbor´s cats meowing outside my window, strong winds, an urge to pee etc.), I often find it hard to fall asleep again and I am often there waiting for either this or first light, whichever would save me from this misery.

before I go to sleep, I sit in my bed, facing the window, close my eyes and meditate.
I mentally go over the passing day, trying to remember everything I have done, every detail, what I have learned, what I would have done differently.
than I am being grateful about this passing day and the experiences it brought me.
only then, I lie down and disappear.

In the long days of summer in our hot climate the hours of the day seem endless and the intensity of the heat exhausts both body and mind.
I usually break the day in two by taking a power nap. I just fall asleep in an instance and sleep for 15 - 20 minutes. when I awake I am clearer again.
on extremely hot days I sit in my outdoor bath tub, in water up to my chin, sometimes with a book and often I fall asleep there for a while, which is an absolute bliss.

Thank you for creating this challenge. I believe this entry will be one of the first. I hope it inspires others to follow suite. looking forward to reading other entries.


If you enjoyed this post please upvote and reHive.
thank you for stopping by.

#EcoTrain
#NaturalMedicin
#ProofOfBrain
#OCD
#Palnet
#Homesteading
#AbundanceTribe

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency