Healthy ice cream with local products

Yes, that's correct ... healthy ice cream exist! I do love ice cream. Remember Cookie Monster from Sesame Street? Well I'm Ice Cream Monster 😋

IMG_20200821_213810.jpg

But I don't like the industrial ice cream. I try to avoid all sugar and the supermarket ice cream is fully loaded with chemicals and sugar. So that's a no-go for me. So I try out several combinations. Some are delicious, other are just okay. But that's the way I like it ... being in the kitchen is like being in a lab, always ready to try something different and experiment with various ingredients and tastes.

IMG_20200815_093040 copy.jpg

Last week I received a lot of fresh fruit and veggies from a friend. It was way too much. So I had to come up with a solution, because throwing away food is a crime. My first thought was making banana bread with the bunch of bananas. But I also had a big part of a watermelon.
Yes! I knew what I could do. I could make ice cream with the fruit. I only use 3 ingredients, so it's very basic and easy. And most important .. healthy. We constantly hear that we need to eat more fruit and veggies, well I found the answer! Eating ice cream without feeling guilty.
IMG20191206WA0002.jpg

How did I made it:
I sliced the watermelon in big chunks and removed the seeds. Put it in a blender. Same procedure with the bananas ... cut them in pieces and blend it. I took a can of coconut cream and mixed all the ingredients together. Now you have some kind of liquid substance.
I added the coconut cream to have a more creamy result. If you make it without, you have more ice crystals and it's more like a sorbet. I put the substance in my ice cream maker and 35 minutes I had a perfect dessert! If you don't have an ice cream maker, no worries. You can follow the same steps and put it in a bowl in the freezer. Every 30 - 45 minutes take the bowl out of the freezer and stir it. Repeat this step 6 times. Then leave it overnight in the freezer. This method takes a long time. But you can do it quicker. Use popsicle molds and make individual portions. They will freeze quicker than a big bowl.
It's a cheap and easy way to process large amounts of fruits and it also helps children (and adults) to eat more fruit.
IMG_20200816_161129.jpg

Because I use local products that are sweet I don't need to add any sugar.
Enjoy your weekend ... I'm off now to eat a little ice cream!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency