Lessons from the Pan Fried Bean Sprout

images.jpeg

To be honest, Mung Bean Sprout is my least favorite vegetable. The reason I'm talking about this right now is not that I'd like to share a recipe about it. Truth is, this seemingly simple dish has something to do with where I am today and my value in life.

To make the story short, I came from a broken family. I was 16 years old when I left our house (as in ESKAPO, they don't know my whereabouts), work for a living and live on my own with only 8,000 on-hand. Call it a stroke of luck or a sign from the universe, I found a gold ring on the street, tried to pawn it, and boom, I have money to start up my independent life.

I experienced working different jobs from varying industries. I worked as a waitress in a bar, a restaurant crew, a fishball vendor, and even worked as a maid all just to prove to myself that I can live without any support from my parents. Looking back, I can say I'm happy I made that decision.

Life was really difficult during that time (pang MMK talaga ang peg) I came to the point when I only eat once a day because there simply is no food. My lowest point I guess would be the time when I asked my neighbor if they have leftover food. So, this came the PAN FRIED BEAN SPROUT OR GINISANG TOGUE. They were nice enough to hand me a bowl of their leftover mung bean sprout. At that time, I found it hard to swallow the food not because it wasn't delicious, but because I felt so much pity for myself. It tasted a bit saltier because of my tears.

This event marked the day I decided to prioritize my well-being. I realized that this is not the life I wanted for myself. This is not the life I think I deserved. This is definitely not the life I wanted for my siblings, which is really a turn-up for the books. I got off my feet, tried harder to start living a better life, and started long-term planning about my life and the life of the people I care about.

After a year of hardship, I went and visited my mother to ask if I can enroll in a college degree to continue my education. Luckily, one of the prestigious universities here in Manila, PLM, (Pamantasan ng Lungsod ng Maynila), accepted my college application and credited some of my units. I finished my college degree in only three years and started my corporate journey shortly after.

Now, I am living a life very different from the one I had years ago. I have gone a long way from that kid that asked a neighbor if they had leftover food. Until now, this dish still makes me remember what I've been through and learned the following:

  1. Don't give up your dreams of having a better life.
    Nothing is impossible as long as you keep working hard to achieve your dreams.

  2. Be strong, any challenges are temporary only.
    Whatever circumstance you are in right now, know that that is only temporary as long as you never give up.

  3. Save and keep some money for yourself. Be practical.
    Seasons change. Make sure that when you have plenty, save some for the rainy days.

  4. Enjoy life even if it's hard.
    Even when everything seems to go wrong, always look at the brighter side and find the fun.

  5. Stay focused and plan your goals.
    In life, there will be many temptations and distractions. Make sure you have detailed plans for your dreams and goals, and stick to them no matter what.

  6. Believe in yourself.
    You are the only one who has the power to improve your current situation.

  7. Pray, pray, pray.
    Pray, meditate, concentrate. Seek guidance where necessary. Seek comfort in times you are weary.

I hope my story inspires those who are losing their way. "KAPIT KA LANG" (hang in there)
and "MANIWALA" (believe) that everything will be FINE. Nakaya ko, kakayanin mo din yan :) (I made it, so can you!)
received_875206413162512.webp

Photos are from Canva Stock Photos

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
10 Comments
Ecency