This content was deleted by the author. You can see it from Blockchain History logs.

A Big Box of Blessing: First Time in My Life

I grew up as a poor child from a poor family and until now I am still poor..hahaha. But I know life is not only about getting money and having lots of treasure. I'm rich in other things such as in love. All I just want to say is that there are things I never experienced as a child and don't know what is the feeling to experience such things. One of these is to receive a box from abroad or what we call here in the Philippines a Balikbayan Box.

IMG_20230423_213443.jpg

A "Balikbayan Box" as what I saw from those who received it is a box full of stuff bought from other countries (such as chocolates, candies, canned food, toys, shoes, clothes, and many other things) sent to their love ones in the Philippines. Every time I saw my neighbors receiving it I'd always ask myself when can I experience it. How does feel? Who will be sending it to us?

Please stay with me for a while as I will share our family's first-ever experience of receiving a "Balikbayan Box" last year.


Months before December, my husband received a message from his friends in the US asking about the sizes of our shoes. We were thrilled to reply to the message, for we know a blessing will be coming soon. As expected at the end of every year, this very kind family will send us gifts in cash or kind. Usually, they will send it to another friend of theirs, and the one who received it will call my husband to get our part. Like, two pieces of shirt, 2 canned foods, and some other goods in a plastic bag or cash worth 6000Php. A big worth of blessings for us.

IMG_20230423_213528.jpg

But the month of December had come, we celebrated New Year's Eve and no one called us to get our part of the blessings for that year. We thought it would not come anymore until they messaged my husband and told him that it was delayed because of bad weather. Every day we felt excited because we know something is coming for us. I felt like a child again 😂. Just like a child being promised by my parents that I will be going to receive a gift from them.

IMG_20230423_213621.jpg

Then the day came. Daddy's cell phone was ringing. It was the delivery boy 😍. All of us got so excited that we run outside to see what was coming. And there it was, a large "Balikbayan Box". For the first time, we received this kind of blessing that I thought would never happen. The kids were shouting for joy, and of course I was too hahaha. It was heavy that Daddy and I cannot lift it straight inside the our parsonage.

IMG_20230423_214007.jpg

All of us cannot wait to open it and look at what was inside. As Daddy was opening the box, we cannot stop ourselves from smiling and the excitement grew more and more with each inch of the opening of the box.

IMG_20230423_214109.jpg
Opps! Smile before you open the cover 😁.

IMG_20230423_214152.jpg

IMG_20230423_214128.jpg

Jewel was the most active on that day, hehe, looking for the stuff that was for her. And every time Jewel and Janneah saw things that they thought were theirs, like bags, biscuits, toys, clothes for kids, and cholates, they will shout for joy. That was the first time I saw that kind of joy on their faces.

IMG_20230423_214228.jpg

Food that was specifically for Jewel because of her health was named for her. See her big smile when she saw her name on the box on it. Janneah at the back? She was too busy with the chocolates 😅.

IMG_20230423_214215.jpg
The two were so busy with their new bag that has toys inside.

IMG_20230608_125919.jpg

These are the things I found in the Balikbayan Box that were for me. I don't have pictures of myself because no one took a picture of me. They were too busy with theirs too but if you can only see my face that time, hahaha, my smile was bigger than that of the kids 😂. It was like a dream come true for me.

IMG_20230608_125851.jpg

These are all for the two of them. The bags are very useful during every travel. And the clothes, seemed like they perfectly fitted these on them.

IMG_20230608_125945.jpg

The above clothes, caps, and shoes are for Daddy. He was so happy of course. But he was happier this year because he received his long-longed heart's desire, an iPad 😃. That was from the same family. They are such a blessing to our family.

IMG_20230608_125756.jpg
I was looking for the animal cracker here in our place because Jewel liked it a lot and it never spiked up her blood sugar, but I didn't see one.

These are all that's inside the Balikbayan Box that once in our life we never thought to receive. Thanking God for these kind-hearted people who never forget to share their blessings with others.


That is all for this blog. Thank you for the time spent with me and for always supporting me. You are one of these kind-hearted people that God has sent. Until next time. With love, mommyjane.